Shinae Choi Robinson’s Tandoori Marinade with Rabbit

This morning I had these rabbit legs in the freezer with absolutely no idea what I wanted to do with them.  Thank God for FB friends.  Shinae Choi Robinson is a wonderful cook and photographer.  She posted a recipe for curry chicken https://plus.google.com/u/0/105466596306740968847/posts/Jiu5hSumdmW with a Vietnamese vibe this morning that sounded fantastic!   I was inspired :)  This marinade was so good that Jade was thinking “dip”.

I preheated my gas grill and when it was ready, I ran out of gas.  F…!, I mean, “curses”, I said.  No problem.  I grilled it on the stove top.

With this lovely rabbit, I served spinach sauteed with bacon and shallots and Korean quail eggs http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/12/09/ginger-sesame-coquelet-with-korean-quail-eggs/.  Lovely!  Chicken, rabbit, game hens, guinea fowl, whatever, this will work!

Shinae Choi Robinson’s Tandoori Marinade

1 tbsp curry powder

4 garlic cloves, minced

1.5 inches fresh ginger, sliced

1 individual container Greek yogurt

2 tbsp fish sauce

1 heaping tbsp tomato paste

1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

Zest of 1/2 lime

Juice of 1 lime

1 fresh mildish chili, sliced

Mix all together, add meat of choice and marinate for a least 2 hours or overnight.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Indian, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Shinae Choi Robinson’s Tandoori Marinade with Rabbit

  1. Jon says:

    I’ll be trying this one over charcoal, looks great. My kids love rabbit, too.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    That sounds wonderful and I’ve been thinking about rabbit today ;-)

  3. Conor Bofin says:

    Another beautiful plate of food. I have to get my brood over the ‘Thumper’ thing. I think I will cook some rabbit and call it ‘chicken of the fields’ or some such.
    Best,
    Conor

  4. joshuafagans says:

    Wish I could get more of my family to like rabbit. Never thought tandoori but have to say that it sounds like an excellent idea!

  5. Jillian says:

    I love rabbit, but I never see it where I currently live. This looks amazingly good!

  6. Looks great. You’re really into your ethnic food. Tandoori so reminds me of England. I think an Indian dish was voted the popular dish in a survey throughout the UK.

    • You English are almost as “ethnic” in your culinary preferences as we Americans. You colonized most of the great food countries :) I love the food diversity in England and am looking forward to a visit soon to eat around.

  7. rsmacaalay says:

    What a great idea! I never thought of using rabbit for tandoori

  8. afracooking says:

    I tried this recpe tonight! The marinade is AMAZING! I had to cook the rabbit in the oven and slightly overcooked it. Will certainly try this again! Fabulous idea!

Leave a Reply

