Steamed Cod Cheeks with Adzuki Bean Sauce

I really like Japanese adzuki beans.  The texture is creamy and with a little sugar and mirin, they make a great addition to a bento box.

However, today I wanted to make steamed cod cheeks with black bean sauce and I searched all over the town for fermented black beans.  The market Vietnamese lady is on vacation; she would have had either the fermented beans or a black bean sauce with garlic.   Oh well.  What I had was adzuki beans and I made do.  It wasn’t bad, in fact it was good, but the adzuki bean sauce had a milder, non-confrontational flavor.  Again, good, but we sprinkled on a bit of tamari soy sauce on each serving to enhance the flavor.

Steamed Cod Cheeks with Adzuki Bean Sauce

4 tbsp adzuki beans, coarsely chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 tbsp sake

1 tbsp sesame oil

1 tbsp soy sauce

2 tbsp tamari sauce sauce

1/2 tsp sugar

1 1/2 lbs cod cheeks, cut into halves

1 inch ginger slivered

6 scallions, thinly diagonally sliced

Mix the beans, garlic, sake, oil, soy sauces and sugar together.  Pour over the cod cheeks and allow to marinate for 1 hour.

Place the cheeks and marinade in a heat proof bowl and sprinkle with the ginger.  Place the bowl in a steamer basket and steam for 8 minutes.  Sprinkle with the scallions and serve with vermicelli noodles.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Steamed Cod Cheeks with Adzuki Bean Sauce

  1. Very good flavours. I’ve never cooked cod cheeks as the idea makes me laugh:)

  2. can I ask what Tamari is? I have never heard of it.

  3. Mad Dog says:

    That sounds really delicious ;-)

  4. Jon says:

    Interesting compromise, sounds good. Maybe a teaspoon of whisky with the beans to get that wine-like flavor that the fermented black beans have?

  5. Well.. this certainly sounds fresh and healthy. I’ve never eaten/cooked with cod cheeks! I’m certain they must be the most tender portion of the fish?

  6. Ha, I love it. You know I really confused people the other day when I made a Mexican inspired black bean sauce. They wanted this. So do I!

  7. gwynnem says:

    WASPy Americans tend to shy away from delicious fish parts like the cheek. Having eaten my fair share of fish cheeks in China and Malaysia, I’m a big fan. Thanks for the great recipe!

  8. ceciliag says:

    Lovely I am so looking forward to getting home at christmas so i can eat fresh fish (and their cheeks) again! c

  9. rsmacaalay says:

    I love this kinds of dishes, the texture and flavour is something to die for

  10. Tessa says:

    Adzuki beans are now one of my new favorites. Great idea on the substitution!

Leave a Reply

