The Color Purple

Just about everyone seems to be roasting cauliflower and I thought it was about time I jumped on the bandwagon.  I don’t know why I haven’t done this before, it is sooo good!

Gratuitous picture of my darling, handsome husband with Secretary of State Clinton.

Anyway, I found a certainly GM purple cauliflower at the new store, Grand Frais, but figured it couldn’t hurt this once and it was so pretty.

Roasted Purple Cauliflower

1 head of purple cauliflower, broken into florets

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1/2 tsp cumin

Salt and pepper to taste

1/4 cup olive oil

Dried edible flower petals

Mix all ingredients together, pour into a shallow baking pan, cover with aluminum foil and roast at 475 F for 10 minutes.  Remove the foil, stir and return to the oven for 10 minutes.  Stir again and return to the oven for 10 more minutes until purple brown.

Sprinkle with flower petals and serve immediately.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to The Color Purple

  1. camerahols says:

    Great picture of Kevin and I wish I could say the same about purple cauliflower. I’m sure it tasted good:)

  2. There you go, raising the level of your food by sprinkling it with flower petals! A nice way to eat cauliflower, no?

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Congratulations to your husband.
    I’m sure the garlic adds to the roasting flavour ;-)
    I don’t think your cauliflower is necessarily GM – I can get organic purple cauliflower from the farmers’ market and it’s possible to create it by breeding as opposed to genetics. See here: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cauliflower

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    Really excellent styling of pictures. That’s professional standard. I wholeheartedly approve of the gratuitous picture too. Also, Grand Frais is an amazing outlet. I was in their one in Narbonne last week. They have every conceivable fruit and vegetable. Their presentation is world class too.
    Best,
    Conor

  5. Congrats to your lovely hubby on his hard work, and I love your purple cauli!

  6. I’m impressed by how colorful the cauliflower stays during roasting. I’ve only ever steamed it and it looses too much color. Of course, that was before I discovered roasting – my new preferred method of cooking. Beautiful photos!

  7. Looks yummy. I think most veggies are improved by roasting.

    Great photo w/ Hillary….

  8. GM or not, this looks wonderful! I like that you added cumin to it. Yum!

    And the photo of your husband with Hillary is awesome!

  9. Tessa says:

    Great photo of your husband and Hillary. Too cool! Your roasted purple cauliflower looks incredible. I might try growing some early next spring :).

  10. Cool photo, this looks great, Rosemary.

  11. Laura says:

    This looks wonderful and I shall try it, altho the edible flower bits may be hard to come by here; I have been shy of trying the purple variety until now. But Rosemary if you love cauli I encourage you to try some dry sautes/pan roasting as well – I do one with a lot of tumeric and garlic, and if you get it just crispy-tender right it is heaven (I’d say I hit about 60% of the time).

  12. joshuafagans says:

    I too love roasting cauliflower. It really brings out the sweetness though somehow I haven’t convinced the kids of this fact yet ;).

  13. ambrosiana says:

    Congratulations to your husband! What an honor! I love roasted cauliflower and that purple vibrates!

  14. rsmacaalay says:

    Really nice and simple, I have seen one of these last week at the Asian shop together with an orange coloured one

  15. Christian says:

    Hi Rosemary, I think you will remember Peter and me. We met at the Best Western Hotel and had an awesome evening with wine and your family :) But I guess you only remember my dog, the golden retriever :) well anyway, We made it back to Austria and now I’m waiting on the pics from Germany :) Hope you and your family are good :) Greetings from Austria, Christian

    • I do remember you and Peter, Christian. We love sharing wine! I’m glad you all made it back safely. Pet the dog for us. Still in France so far but should be settled and ready to cook in Germany buy the end of September. Be sure to follow my blog! There should be a button on the front page somewhere.

Leave a Reply

