Sunday, Sunday: Cherry Tomato Sauce

My husband left South Sudan yesterday after meeting with Madame Hillary Clinton who commended him on the fantastic job he did as the first mission director to this 1 year old nation.  Thanks Hills, but although we didn’t mind lending him for a year, we need him now.  Hello!

So, I cleaned out the refrigerator today and discovered that I had a little over 60 cherry tomatoes that looked a little tired, 2 heirloom tomatoes, along with some middle aged spring onions and 1/2 of a drying out scotch bonnet.  Sounded like a Frugal Feeding moment  http://frugalfeeding.com/, so I made a cherry tomato sauce.

I’m now in what I’ve always called the “exit mode” and most others have called FIGMO (F**k it I’ve Got My Orders).  It’s seriously difficult to concentrate in exit mode, so many things to do, including a horrible pack out.  The wonderful thing about this time is that 1)  I’m leaving my own house, just locking the door and giving the key to M. Parret, AND I’m only going next door to Germany, a developed country.  Hi ho, halcyon days!  Pack out what?  If I forget anything, I’ll just come back and get it during Jade’s school holidays!

Still, it’s hard to settle and after I made the sauce, I covered it and Jade and I went to lunch at one of her favorite places on the square.  This used to be a wonderful, family run, French traditional restaurant but the owners decided that they, in their 50s, couldn’t be bothered and sold out.  Our loss.  The restaurant now specializes unenthusiastically in Breton crepes, salads and other things.  Whatever, every Jade has to have her day.

We decided to split an entree of smoked salmon.  Smoked salmon plate before I insisted they toast the bread.

Smoked salmon plate after.

For the main, I ordered an andouillete plate with vegetables.  It was okay.  But when I asked for mustard, I was appalled by the carry-out mustard packets they gave me.  Come on!  Mustard is so cheap here and usually served in a cute little bowl!  Anyway.

Jade had a mixed cheese salad with sauteed potatoes.  That was okay also.

For dessert, we ordered a peach melba for Jade and a Cafe Gourmand for me.  After 20 minutes, I just went up and paid.  Why stress?  We went to the “Star Wars” bar for coffee and hot chocolate that usually has a gaggle of photogenic old hippies.  Unfortunately,  they must of been on walkabout or something.

Still good day, beautiful weather and a great escape from the exit mode :)

Cherry Tomato Sauce

10 spring onions, chopped

2-3 large garlic cloves, chopped

1/2 scotch bonnet, chopped

1/4 cup olive oil

1 tbsp fresh basil, chopped

1/2 tsp dried oregano

50-60 cherry tomatoes, halved and seeded

2 heirloom tomatoes, seeded and chopped

1 heaping teaspoon tomato paste

2 slugs red wine

1 cup water

Salt and pepper

Fry the onions, scotch bonnet and garlic in the olive oil until extremely soft.  Add the basil and stir around for about 1 minute.  Add the oregano, tomatoes, tomato paste, wine, water, salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil and then simmer for 1 – 1 1/2 hours.  Serve with gnocchi.

Wine suggestion:  Cote de Bourg

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Sunday, Sunday: Cherry Tomato Sauce

  1. Tessa says:

    I’ve got a bunch of cherry tomatoes that I need to deal with too… Great idea. I’m doing that for dinner tonight!

  2. Another fantastic French restaurant moment – don’t you just despair. On the other hand, wait until you get to Germany:)

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Great cherry tomato sauce! France has always been hit and miss for restaurants and bars – it’s part of the experience. They just shrug their shoulders frustratingly and say, “Tant pis”. Even when they knock you off a motor bike!
    I’m waiting with baited breath for the German experience ;-)

    • I knew about this restaurant in advance, but like a child, my expectations are always unreasonable.

      • Mad Dog says:

        It’s not that unreasonable to want them to try harder. People do expect food to be nice when they pay for it ;-)

        • Yes but Mad, this is France. You either choose the right restaurant or you walk away and never go back. The French are never going to question themselves. No lessons learned here. I think it has something to do with the revolution which they have never gotten over. They are free, which includes doing business however they feel like it. This attitude is amusing most times but sometimes not.

  4. Quelle dommage about the restaurant – well done to your husband for his sterling work.. And well done to you for coping with FIGMO moments and making beautiful sauce :)

  5. MixerUpper says:

    Fun post. Congrats to your husband, and good luck with your packing.

  6. Funky, beautiful tomatoes. I just stared at them for a bit. Very cool. I thought you were coming back stateside, are you now going to Germany? Forgive my attention span!

  7. You must go back.. I’m longing to see the hippies!!

  8. Another lovely photo, that top one of your vibrant sauce.

  9. joshuafagans says:

    Hard when a cherished restaurant goes downhill. Nice looking sauce from the remnants of the fridge though!

  10. How very exciting for him :D. Perhaps you ought to be more like me a little more frequently – this looks delicious, Rosemary :D

  11. Karista says:

    Congratulations to your Hubs! Well done indeed! Life is an adventure and it sounds like you’ll have lots of it soon. Wishing you all the best in your transition! And love the cherry tomato sauce! I happen to have some sad looking cherry tomotoes and this is a perfect use for them. :)

  12. chefconnie says:

    Wow, I love Hillary. Congrats to the hubs. Lovely pictures and I am bookmarking the recipe for when my mountain tomatoes (cross your fingers) come in.

  13. You’ve inspired me to make something similar this week! I have a ton of cherry tomatoes growing in the backyard and have been trying to decide what to do with them.

  14. sybaritica says:

    The mustard packets do seem a little chintzy for the sort of place that serves otherwise lovely looking plates!

Leave a Reply

