Calf’s Liver with Shallot and Red Wine Sauce

Lovely freezer surprise today; I found two gorgeous slices of calf’s liver!   I had some fresh spaetzle in the fridge, so lunch was pretty much a done deal.

Lunch tomorrow in Paris :)

Calf’s Liver with Shallot and Red Wine Sauce

2 slices calf’s liver

Salt and pepper

Flour

2 tbsp butter

1 tbsp olive oil

3-4 shallots, sliced vertically

1/2 cup red wine

1/3 cup fond de veau or chicken broth or beef broth

Salt and pepper

Season the liver with salt and pepper, then dust with flour.  Melt one tablespoon of the butter in a pan with the olive oil, fry the liver in the pan for 3 minutes per side, remove and set aside.

Add the shallots to the pan with the remaining tablespoon of butter and saute until soft.  Add the red wine and boil until reduced to about a third and slightly syrupy.  Add the broth and boil until thickened.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Put the liver slices, into the pan of sauce, turning to coat and heat for 1 minute.  Serve with spaetzle.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Calf’s Liver with Shallot and Red Wine Sauce

  1. Lunch?! If only my table had a plate of this for my lunch.. or any lunch, lol. I love liver, I know many aren’t partial, but I had it growing up and it’s one of my favorites. It’s great to see a new way to prepare it! xx

  2. You know I love me some calf’s liver! Looks yummy with the spaetzle. Can’t wait to read and see what you eat in Paris!

  3. I adore calf´s liver – and a local butcher here used to do it, so will have to see if he still “deals”! Lovely way of cooking it :)

  4. Mad Dog says:

    I love calves liver and I’m lucky to have butchers that always have it ;-)
    Sounds like a good recipe too!

Leave a Reply

