Fete de Garage

Some of M. and Mme Parret’s closest friends, Antonio and Chantal, completed the construction on their house garage last week and to celebrate and acknowledge the excellence of the garage, they decided to host a pig roast dinner in the Parret courtyard.

Our son and his friends hosted a pig roast in Washington, D.C. a couple of weeks ago and I was thinking, Wow,  the French are becoming more and more like Americans!   Not at all.

These pictures were taken by one of Brian’s friends.  I forgot his name but those look suspiciously like plastic cups and I understand that paper plates and plastic forks were involved.  American savagery at it’s worse, according to M. Parret  :D

At the American pig roast, everyone brought sides, salads and desserts to share.

Antonio and Chantal’s pig was catered and came with all the trimmings; a trio of entree salads, vegetables, scalloped potatoes and a very rich gravy for the meat.

The Parrets’ son, Etienne, in a spotless royal blue apron, carved perfect slices of pork for the guests.

Needless to say, real plates and real glasses were involved :)  And Champagne!

Always such a good time at the Parrets!

Of course there was cheese and a magnum of red wine to accompany it.

I didn’t get pictures of the dessert because I was busy talking, drinking, eating and having a high ole time!

This party went on until just past 2 o’clock in the morning, but like Cinderellas, Jade and I slipped away at midnight.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Fete de Garage

  1. On mange bien tous les jour chez la famille Parret, il me parait! That is perfect French hospitality and savoir faire. Jenny and I had a similar event, but with a lamb, this weekend in the Charente. They do it so well.

  2. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow I remember Philippine fiestas with this one, whole roasted pig as the table centerpiece. I love the crispy skin of those.

  3. Mad Dog says:

    Who needs desert when you can have cheese! Very good looking piggies on both sides of the pond ;-)

  4. Great culture contrast. I’d be happy to attend either one…

  5. Tessa says:

    It’s been years since I had roasted pig… Absolutely delicious!

  6. How did we Americans get to be this way, loading our lives with disposable crap? It’s a story I might want to run down someday (I know part of it). I like both potlucks and hosted affairs though.

  7. For the love of pork that looks good. To save on dishwasher time and help the planet I would eat that right off the table. I wouldn’t use a napkin either. I’d just lick my arm.

  8. Everything looks amazing on both coasts! I love me a roasted pig. Yum!

Leave a Reply

