Deep Fried Chicken Wings

Tonight we’re invited over to the Parrets’ for roast suckling pig.  To me that says barbecue, but not so according to M. Parret.  According to him, it will be a sit down affair with real glasses and plates, while I was thinking paper and/or plastic.  He was so offended, I begged his pardon :D  Anyway.

I decided to make some fried chicken wings, on a real platter with paper napkins, to hand around with the before dinner drinks.  And anyway, the last time I made chicken wings for drinks they went faster than the foie gras.  We had some for lunch with sauteed yellow zucchini.  So Franco-American, minus the can.  The flowers are from my husband for my birthday tomorrow :)

Deep Fried Chicken Wings

 2-3 pounds of cut up chicken wings

Emeril’s essence

Salt and pepper

Flour

Peanut oil

Season the wings with Emeril’s essence, salt and pepper, then allow to sit around for about 30 minutes.  Dust or dredge the wings with flour and deep fry in the peanut oil until golden, about 10-12 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Appetizer, Food and Wine, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Deep Fried Chicken Wings

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Surprisingly, chicken wings are nowhere near as popular in Europe as in the states. I used to love the hot wings sold in American bars. I’m sure yours with Emeril’s essence will be a big hit ;-)

  2. annashortcakes says:

    Happy birthday!!!

  3. ceciliag says:

    Happy birthday for tomorrow , your sweet little roses peeking into the shot look just perfect.. I have never deep fried chicken wings but this looks so simple i had better get onto it. i am sure they will go down a treat with the american side of this family!! c

  4. Tessa says:

    Happy Birthday! I hope that you have a wonderful day!

  5. Happy Birthday!
    These chicken wings look fingerlicking!

  6. OK happy birthday, but what I really want to say even more is ain’t no thang but chicken wing!

  7. Don’t worry, Rosemary. I think it’s an American thing. Still, the chicken wings look great… even if I don’t usually condone deep frying :D

  8. Karen says:

    I hope you had a wonderful birthday today. I’m sure the chicken wings were very much appreciated.

  9. Michelle says:

    A tardy bon anniversaire ! (My computer croaked and I’m just now getting on Steve’s to catch up.) And, oh, how I love chicken wings. Best part of the bird as far as I’m concerned.

  10. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow have a Happy Birthday!

Leave a Reply

