Cocos de Paimpol Ragout with Turbot and Spinach

The fresh Coco de Paimpol beans are in the market and I wasted no time finding something to do with them.

The French site Peche de Gourmand gave me the inspiration I needed with their ragout of coco beans and chorizo http://pechedegourmand.canalblog.com/archives/2011/08/29/21838649.html.

Fan-tas-tic!

Cocos de Paimpol Ragout with Turbot and Spinach

1 onion, chopped

2 large garlic cloves, chopped

3 -4 cups shelled coco beans

1 bouquet garni

Salt and pepper

1 Spanish chorizo sausage, skin removed and diced

3/4 cup chicken broth

1 tsp tomato paste

Piment d’Espelette

4 rectangles (pave) turbot fillets

Salt and pepper

Flour

Olive oil

1 lb baby spinach, steamed

Parsley, chopped

Saute the garlic and onion in the butter and put into a large pot with the beans, bouquet garni, salt and pepper.  Cover with water, bring to a boil and simmer for 25 minutes.  Add the chorizo, broth, tomato paste and a sprinkle of piment d’espelette.  Cook for an additional 10 minutes, then set aside and keep warm.

Season the turbot with salt, pepper and dust with flour.  Pan fry in the olive oil until golden.

Divide the spinach into four bowls, top with the fish, ladle on some bean ragout and sprinkle with parsley.

Wine suggestion:  Cote de Provence Rose

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Cocos de Paimpol Ragout with Turbot and Spinach

  1. That is a fabulous recipe. I hadn’t noticed that the cocos were already around. I must get out and buy some.

  2. Tessa says:

    I’ve never seen coco beans before… Are the like cranberry beans? They look delish!

  3. ceciliag says:

    wonderful to be cooking what is at the markets, what is local and almost provincial.. lovely looking dish.. c

  4. Gorgeous, Rosemary. I like getting my expensive-fish-fix from you :D

  5. Mad Dog says:

    How delicious – I loved that coco and chorizo recipe too ;-)

  6. Michelle says:

    Oh, how I love the coco beans! Hope they’re still around in Normandy when we get there in a month or so. And with chorizo? Parfait!

  7. Ooooooh! Cocos are my absolute favorite bean. I have some dried ones tucked in the cupboard. They seem to be hard to find in New York (or at least where I have been looking), so when I see them, I grab them.

    I miss them fresh!

    You are very lucky and turbot (or cod) and chorizo is one of my favorite combinations! Looks great!

  8. Anything with chorizo wins my heart immediately.

  9. This may sound silly, but I love seeing beans I’m not familiar with. I want to meet them!

  10. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow that’s a really nice fish dish, can I have two plates of them :)

Leave a Reply

