French Cobb Salad

In my teens, trying to branch out from being solely my Mom’s “coupe oignon” (onion chopper) or butter creamer, I started trying things on my own using the cookbooks in the house.  One of my favorite things to make was a big, fresh Cobb Salad with chopped ham, eggs, cheese, bacon, avocado, tomatoes etc., all lined out in rows on top of a big bowl of crispy iceberg lettuce.  So pretty.  The recipe was originally created at the Brown Derby in Hollywood, California.

I was surprised to see what was called a Cobb Salad in this month’s Saveurs magazine, French edition.  Not the same at all but interesting and good, with a perfect honey flavored dressing and two big, thick pieces of grilled bacon.

French Cobb Salad

1 tbsp honey

2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce

1 tbsp Dijon Mustard

Juice of 1/2 lemon

2 tbsp wine vinegar

3 tbsp olive oil

Salt and pepper

Lettuce hearts, separated

Cherry tomatoes, halved

Roquefort cheese, crumbled

2 chicken breast, grilled and thinly sliced

8 slices of thick, country style bacon, grilled

Make the dressing with the honey, Worcestershire, mustard, lemon, vinegar, olive oil, salt and pepper.  Set aside.

Divide the lettuce between four serving bowls and top with the tomatoes, roquefort and sliced chicken.  Place two grilled bacon slices on the side.

Drizzle the salad with the prepared dressing and serve with a fresh baguette.

Wine suggestion:  Chablis

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to French Cobb Salad

  1. The salad sounds delicious and perfect for summer. However, Rosemary, I am nonplussed by your affection for iceberg lettuce which by all rights should have gone down with the Titanic never to be seen on a table again. Forgive me, I’m ranting and I don’t want you joining the ever widening circle of people giving me a wide berth:)

    • I love iceberg lettuce Roger. Love it! I make special trips around the various French supermarkets hoping for the rare chances when they have it.

      I love you too Roger :D

  2. Mad Dog says:

    That sounds like an excellent salad – too good to go down with the Titanic ;-)

  3. Tessa says:

    I love Iceberg lettuce and this salad would be perfect for a light dinner on a warm summer day. I’m curious… What is the prob with iceberg lettuce?

  4. This salad looks so good that I may change my plan for dinner! That’s really interesting dressing, too, with the hit of the Worcestershire and the honey/lemon combo…unlike anything I’ve seen paired with this style of salad…but looks really great! The hearts of iceberg work for me…it’s those outside leaves that leave me cold!

    • Thank you bits. I grew up with lettuce that crunches, iceberg, romaine, although now I like all leaf lettuce but there is still that special place in my heart for crunchy, juicy iceberg :)

  5. Michelle says:

    Drives me crazy when I see things in restaurants labeled “Cobb Salad” (and it seems to happen all the time these days) that don’t use iceberg. Your salad looks great!

  6. kat says:

    that salad just sound so delicious and perfect for summer! i love that you added bacon :)

  7. I’ll fess up and say I’ve never heard of cobb salad. You got me with the “thick bacon”. delicious looking!

  8. Karen says:

    I think the French version of cobb salad sounds very good. Sometimes you need a sturdier lettuce for salads and I think this is a perfect example.

  9. Karista says:

    I adore a good Cobb salad and this French version looks divine! I like iceberg, especially when it’s served very cold. I admit however, I’m a bit of a traditionalist and love a good blue cheese dressing topping my well chilled iceberg. :)

  10. Oh, dear.. is ok that I love iceberg lettuce as well. I think it’s the crunch. You have some seriously amazing recipes here.. are you ever going to consider writing a cookbook??

  11. Pingback: Cobb Salad Anyone? | What's On the Stove?

Leave a Reply

