Grilled Quail with Bok Choy

I had 6 pretty little quail in the freezer and decided to make an Asian marinade and grill them.  Good decision :)

It only takes about 15 minutes to grill these succulent little babies.

The Vietnamese lady in the market had some garden fresh baby bok choy.  I simply, stir fried them with garlic, ginger and peanut oil.

Yesterday, just one day after I ordered it, my Emile Henry tarte tatin pan arrived.  The serving plate portion arrived broken and cracked, as if someone had kicked it onto the truck :(   So disappointing.  But that’s why I always like to order from Amazon. fr, .uk or .com, because when something like this happens, they immediately send you a replacement and give you 30 days to return the damaged item.  No worries :)

Grilled Quail

6 quail, cleaned

1 small bunch cilantro, chopped

Juice of 1 lime

1 tbsp sesame seed oil

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 inch ginger, minced

3 tbsp sweet chili sauce

Mix together the cilantro, lime juice, oil, garlic, ginger and chili sauce.  With kitchen shears, cut the quail up the back and flatten the breast with the palm of your hand.  Put the quail inside of a zip lock, pour the sauce over and refrigerate for 2-4 hours.  Grill, basting with the leftover marinade for about 15-20 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Grilled Quail with Bok Choy

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Quelle dommage!
    The quail looks lovely though – I’ve got a partridge in the freezer wanting to be cooked soon…

  2. Tessa says:

    Gorgeous grilled quail. And I love the red color of the Emile Henry pan. Too bad it was broken upon arrival… Fortunately, you purchased it from a reputable company. Have a great weekend!

  3. I love quail and that’s a nice marriage of flavours.

  4. Jon says:

    Looks awesome!

  5. ambrosiana says:

    I love quail!!! So sorry for your broken serving plate!! That would have got into my nerves. Hopefully you are getting a replacement. This is why it is important to always buy in trustworthy places..

  6. Beautiful bok choy and pretty red pan.

  7. Beautiful quail! I love spatchcocking birds.

    So sad about the tarte tatin dish :-( I swear that out of all the postal workers in the world, the French hate their jobs the most. Glad that you are getting a replacement for that beautiful, red dish!

  8. I’m from Texas and quail is pretty common. But it is nice to see an interesting recipe. Thanks for sharing it!

  9. Paula says:

    My parents would love this!! Even more in a grill ;)
    It’s not my favourite bird :P I love “bone dishes”, but the quail is so small, a little difficult to eat :P

    I also bought my tartin set of Emile Henry in Amazon! It’s a pity that you are going to wait a little, but luckyly, you won’t have any problem with the replacement ;) And then, you’re going to see, you are not going to make only tatins with that set. Or at least, I use it much more ;)

    I save the recipe for dad and mum, I’ll be at home soon, and they’ll be grateful this grill season ;)

  10. giovannicampo says:

    Reblogged this on foodwinetravels and commented:
    cool!

  11. solapuella says:

    I had to use chicken, but I made this for lunch today. Delicious!

  12. This looks wonderful and a broken dish means you should order the replacement and an extra!

  13. rsmacaalay says:

    Those quails looks good, they must be so tender and succulent

  14. Oh no! Amazon are good like that though! I hope a replacement arrives speedily. Sorry for my jocular attack on your pastry :D

  15. The quail looks exquisite! I love the color of the Emile Henry tarte tatin pan!

  16. Love this recipe! Will be linking back to this in my upcoming post :)

  17. Pingback: Flights of Fancy ~ Citrus, Cranberry, Cherry Quail | recipe on FamilyFreshCooking.com — Family Fresh Cooking

Leave a Reply

