Fresh Herb Balsamic Lamb Chops

Yes, I know it’s only been two days since I made the lamb leg, but I’m in freezer trouble again, so it’s lamb again today.  Cruel, cruel world :)  We’ll be eating meat and fish from the freezer for the next week or so.

These are juicy, succulent New Zealand lamb chops.  I’m still waiting for Frugal to send me a shipment of Welsh lamb.  Until then, we’ll just have to make do.  Quick and easy recipe.

Fresh Herb Balsamic Lamb Chops

6 New Zealand lamb chops

1 tbsp of mixed fresh herbs, chopped (rosemary, thyme, basil)

Salt and pepper

1 1/2 tbsp olive oil

2 shallots, chopped

1/3 cup balsamic vinegar

3/4 cup chicken broth

1 tbsp butter

Rub the chops with the herbs, salt and pepper.  After 30 minutes, brown in the olive oil, 2 minutes per side.  Remove from the pan and set aside.

Add the shallots to the pan and cook until soft.  Add the vinegar and broth, boiling and stirring until the liquid is reduced by half.  Remove from flame and stir in the butter.  Add the lamb chops, stirring to coat.  Serve with mashed potatoes and fresh green peas.

Wine suggestion:  Hospice de Beaujeu red

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Fresh Herb Balsamic Lamb Chops

  1. ambrosiana says:

    Deliciuous!! If it was for me, I would make lamb very often!!!

  2. Oh to have your kind of freezer trouble…

  3. For all the write up that Welsh lamb gets, I think New Zealand is as good. As I don’t eat a lot of it, however, I’m not a very good judge:)

  4. Tessa says:

    Your freezer meals always look fabulous :).

  5. I adore lamb chops but we won´t be getting many round here now until next Spring :( Maybe I´ve got some in my freezer (she says hopefully)!

  6. Another lamb recipe.. I’ve got to make a few chops soon to enjoy what I see!! xx

  7. putneyfarm says:

    Too much lamb is a problem we would like to have…looks great, btw…

  8. Mad Dog says:

    That looks delicious! My biggest freezer problem is too much stock – lamb doesn’t normally stay in there long ;-)

    • It would be nice to have a freezer dedicated to stock and other basic cooking essentials. I used to have one and probably will end up getting one here. The two little refrigerator freezers just can’t handle it!

  9. Looks delicious. This is one of my favorite ways to cook lamb too!

    Frugal has been a little slack on the lamb shipment, hasn’t he?
    ;-)

  10. Lamb is just so good. Can’t get enough. This looks amazing tucked in with peas.

  11. What a beautiful blog you have

  12. Spoon Feast says:

    Another beautiful meal. New Zealand and Australian lamb are preferred for me. I have never had British lamb but salt marsh lamb sure sounds like it is worth it. It sounds like it is worth a trip to find out.

  13. Michelle says:

    There is excellent lamb now here in the States, but the farmers around here say that it’s very difficult to make any money on it and they all seem to quit raising it after a season or two. Lovely dish (but, unlike Roger, I adore peas).

  14. Beautiful plating :)

  15. Kocinera says:

    What a beautiful dish! I love the pictures of the lamb with mashed potatoes and peas–so yummy and so elegant.

  16. rsmacaalay says:

    That lamb looks scrumptious!

  17. These look wonderful, although I wouldn’t ever buy NZ lamb because I just don’t like the idea of transporting it across the world when we have excellent lamb much nearer to home! Such a waste of resources. There must be a butcher near you with good French lamb – we buy Averyron lamb that comes straight from the farm, conveniently to a wine caveau in the village because of a family connection, and it’s the best lamb I’ve ever tasted from anywhere in the world! In fact we’re having a whole one delivered next week for a party. And I say that as a Welsh woman – I think Welsh lamb is pretty good too, but can’t get that here. Don’t buy it in London – go to Wales to taste it, but first taste Aveyronnais lamb.

    • Hi Chaise. The lamb I bought for the barbecue was local lamb. I just don’t think it tastes as good as New Zealand. I’m always willing to try something new; I’ll ask my butcher for Averyron lamb. Thank you. I don’t know anybody in Wales :) It will have to be London.

  18. Vicki says:

    This isn’t about lamb [which looks yummy] but back to the mirabelles [sp?] that you posted last year. To our pleasure we’ve discovered that the scrubby little collection of twigs is for the first time covered in dear little plums. Do I HAVE to stone them?

  19. Karen says:

    There can never be too many lamb dishes as far as I’m concerned.

  20. What a beautiful plate. Simple yet enticing. Do you use natural light in your shots?

  21. Pingback: Elderberry Balsamic Lamb Chops | threechickstalkingaboutfood

Leave a Reply

