Scorpion Fish Fillets with Yellow Zucchini

I really should be planning my move to Germany but can’t seem to get into the exit mode. After all, it’s only next door and if I forget anything I can always come back and get it.  Forgot my traveling knives in the U.S., left my Kindle in the hotel and didn’t buy any yellow mustard.  Whatever.  My husband will pick them up when he goes back in August.  Too old to travel :(

Scorpion fish, or rascasse is a medium firm fish with a sweet, slightly wild taste.  The spines and fins are venomous and I’m sure the fishmonger was very careful when he filleted it.  My inspiration for this recipe is taken from The Kitchen of Oz http://www.thekitchenofoz.com/index.php/2011/01/cooking-in-paris/, apparently a student attending cooking school in Paris for this recipe.  Thank you Oz.

I liked the lime, red pepper thing that was happening in this recipe, so I took it a little deeper with the ole Scotch of the Bonnet, eschewing the lime zest for a hearty squeeze of lime juice :)  The sauces of beurre noisette and balsamic velour were brilliant!

Oops!  How did the ole Scotch of the Bonnet end up with the courgettes instead of with the fish?  Magic!

Scorpion Fish Fillets with Yellow Courgettes

4 shallots, finely chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

2 yellow courgettes, halved vertically and sliced

3 oz coppa, cut into strips

1 inch scotch bonnet, cut into little bits

A hearty squeeze of lime juice

2 oz butter

4-5 scorpion fish fillets

Salt

Pepper

1 1/2 tbsp olive oil

Velours de balsamic (balsamic vinegar reduction)

Saute the shallots in the olive oil until translucent.  Add the courgettes and saute until crisp tender.  Add the coppa and cook for another minute.  Add the scotch bonnet and lime juice, mix well and set aside, keeping warm.

Brown the butter in a sauce pan over low heat, stirring constantly until brown.  Set aside, keep warm.

Season the fillets with salt and pepper, then brown in the olive oil, 3 minutes per side.

Dot, swirl or drizzle some velours de balsamic on each plate, then mound the courgettes on top.  Place a fillet on top of the courgettes and drizzle with the butter.

Wine suggestion:  Muscadet

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Scorpion Fish Fillets with Yellow Zucchini

  1. ambrosiana says:

    Delicious!!! I did not know you were moving to Germany!!

    • Thank you Ambrosiana. I’m not really moving there, just going on a long tdy of a year or two to be with my husband who has been assigned to AFRICOM in Stuttgart.

  2. You’re so fortunate to have fresh fish nearby.. and to have it prepped.. that sounds dangerous! I,too, have a shorter memory these days.. xo

  3. MixerUpper says:

    Looks delish. I am looking forward to your move to Germany, and watching you try your hand at spaetzle, knoedelen, and bretzeln. Let me know if you need me to ship you some yellow mustard. :-)

  4. Tessa says:

    Lovely fish! I really like your yellow zucchini dish with the scotch bonnets.

  5. Ooh how unusual with the coppa in there too…really fancy trying it!

  6. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent – I think I’ve only noticed rascasse used in bouillabaisse before – probably because it requires careful handling.
    As much as I feel disappointed that you are leaving France, I’m sure there will be all sorts of exciting food just waiting to be cooked in Germany ;-)

  7. I hope you’ve been carefully considering where the windows, that will provide fabulous daylight for your photography, are situated in your new German residence. I look forward to your new Bauhaus look:)

  8. Kell says:

    I don’t have many recipes for scorpion fish (AKA sculpin) so I appreciate this. I’ve gone fishing for scorpion fish twice in my life (both off the coast of Southern California). It’s definitely scary reeling in those creatures, but luckily, there are experts on the boats to trim the spines and fillet them for you. I’ve only fried them in the past, and they are delicious! My family agrees that it’s the best fish of the sea. I’m saving this recipe for the next time I got out. Thanks!

  9. Beautiful dish, beautifully plated.

  10. Oh no! Where would I be without my kindle? I already have too many actual books to fit in my room… I don’t think I could easily locate an actual book. That does look truly delicious, Rosemary! Where in Germany are you moving to?

  11. putneyfarm says:

    Looks great. Had no idea scorpion fish were even edible but it seems we can get them in California- we need to try it. But we may also adapt the rest of the recipe to another white fish- the flavors sound lovely. Thx

  12. sybaritica says:

    Scorpion fish meant nothing to me but I recognize ‘racasse’ as being one of the fish that are ‘de riguer’ for a ‘true’ Bouillabaise … We catch the ‘Sculpin’ that one of your commenters mention all around the coast of North America…. even here in the VERY far north but I’m not sure they are the same. The spines on Sculpin are not poisonous as far as I know. BTW … have you had a Bouillabaisse in Marseille?

  13. rsmacaalay says:

    Never tried scorpion fish yet but it sounds like fugu, very thrilling to eat :)

Leave a Reply

