Barbecued Beef Ribs from America

Well yes, I brought the ribs back in my suitcase after freezing them in the tiny refrigerator freezer in the hotel.  My husband did give me a strange look but I remembered a woman who refused to eat any of the meat raised in Niger and would return with two suitcases full of steaks, roasts, chicken, etc. each time she went home for vacation.  Wrong move on her part because West African meat is leaner, antibiotic free and certainly not GM.  Each to his/her own.

I brought two slabs back because this cut is not available in France and I wanted to cook them for July 4th.  A little jet-lagged, I simply rubbed in some Emeril’s essence and brushed with olive oil before grilling off flame, then painted with a little barbecue sauce, which is optional.  Succulent, juicy and tender!

While cleaning out my over 600 e-mails, I saw a post by David Lebovitz on hummus http://www.davidlebovitz.com/2012/07/the-hummus-factory-israel-strauss/.  While the article about a hummus factory was interesting, I was struck by his leading photo of roasted eggplant and decided to make my own version.  The sloppy, can’t be bothered way I made the vinaigrette isn’t worth repeating here, but I will.  Coarsely chop a large garlic clove and a shallot, toss into blender, add 3 tbsp olive oil, a pinch of salt, 1/2 tsp cumin and 1 tbsp lemon juice, then blend until it looks right.  It was good but you might want to consider adding the oil to everything else in a stream.

Barbecued Beef Ribs

2 slabs of beef ribs

Emeril’s essence

Olive oil

Homemade barbecue sauce (optional)

Season the ribs on both sides with Emeril’s essence and generously brush with olive oil.  Refrigerate for at least 2 hours, overnight is better.

Grill the ribs off flame, top down for 1 1/2 hours.  If using the barbecue sauce, brush with the sauce and cook for an additional 10-15 minutes per side.

Roasted Eggplant with Cumin Vinaigrette

2 eggplants

Salt

Dried or fresh thyme leaves

Parsley, chopped

Cumin Vinaigrette – See above

Halve the eggplants vertically and score in a diamond pattern.  Sprinkle with salt and allow to rest for about 30-40 minutes, then gently squeeze to eliminate the accumulated water.  Dry with a paper towel, then sprinkle with thyme leaves and roast, cut side down, for 30 minutes in a 400 F oven.  Serve with the parsley and vinaigrette.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Barbecued Beef Ribs from America

  1. Laura says:

    Happy 4th! I am doing portobello-bean burgers here in deference to my vegan daughter-in-law, but will celebrate nonetheless. Also will try the eggplant, looks wonderful …

  2. ambrosiana says:

    Oh yummy!!!! What a great dish to celebrate the 4th of July!!!! Happy 4th of July!!!!!

  3. I have to admit I have always thought beef ribs were too much work for what you get! But my 14 year old son made a batch of them last week and they were absolutely delish! I’ll pass on your recipe to my new budding chef. ;) Hope you have a wonderful 4th!

  4. The ribs do look good, so I guess it was worth carrying meat around in your suitcase. I’d have been worried about having my excuse ready for the customs officer as he moved my clothes aside to reveal the tip of a body part:)

  5. Alaina says:

    Your eggplant looks delicious!

  6. Looks delicious – happy July 4th – now what an earth is Emeril’s essence? X

  7. Mad Dog says:

    Beautiful ribs – I bet they tasted good! Happy 4th July ;-)

  8. Tessa says:

    Lovely ribs! And a happy 4th of July to you!

  9. Good to see you back to your kitchen! This looks incredible, Rosemary :D. Was enjoying your holiday posts :D. 600 e-mails sounds annoying…

  10. I thought I was the only one who traveled this way. I made Katherine bring back an 8-pound block of Romano from NY. Have a great Fourth. These look fantastic.

  11. Paula says:

    Wow!! I can’t believe the story about the woman who didn’t eat Nigerian meat!! :O Well, I believe you, but I can’t see how is possible. It sounds like a prejudice.

    In the other hand, I understand you so good… When I travel, I have to put in my suitcase all that food that you don’t know how it will arrive home. Tomatoes from my last travel to Paris, meat from Berlin or Munich… My boyf always has to think where we can put it, and use socks as “parashock”. It’s funny, he also thinks I’m crazy.

    And I don’t know the difference between french and USA beef ribs, or if at France you can’t find them, but, God, they have a nice look! And, since it’s mine and my mother favourite meat, I can say I’m green with envy!!

  12. Conor Bofin says:

    Happy 4th of July. Good to have you back.
    Best,
    Conor

  13. Michelle says:

    The only foodstuff I’ve ever taken into France is coffee, and I always do. I’ll never understand the French fascination with those Robusta beans. (Yeah, I know, former colonies and all. But the coffee is seriously bad.) Glad to see you back in your kitchen, American meat and all!

  14. This all looks incredible! Did you smuggle the flags in too ;-)

    I think it’s awesome that you pack meat from the US in your luggage. Kind of amazing that it makes it!

    I don’t blame you about the Nigerien meat though. I was a vegetarian while I was there, so no fear of a sketchy brochette for me!

    • We ate the Nigerien meat. It was lean and Haousa brochettes were delicious! My husband is an ex-peace corps volunteer :) It was another lady at the Embassy who imported her meat.

      • That was my confused brain at work! I just kept visualizing you with ribs in your suitcase and then read about suitcases full of meat in Niger.

        That woman was crazy.

        I was a student, so I’m sure the brochettes of my compadres were much sketchier than yours ;-)

        • Long ago, a woman from Cameroon asked me why Americans were afraid to eat street food. I told her that we were worried about hygiene. Surprised she said, “So are we. We don’t just eat at any street stall. We look and ask around before we try them.” We’ve been following her advice for over 30 years and no one in our family has gotten sick from street food. Knock on a calabash.

  15. Pingback: Sunday Sparkle: 8th July 2012 + Giveaway Winner « Beast & Beauty

  16. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow! I want some of those ribs. I just had my dinner now I am hungry again

  17. I have often returned from trips with packets of something frozen in the hotel fridge/freezer just “because I could”! And I love the aubergines and dressing too :)

Leave a Reply

