A Small New York Pizza

20120629-062416.jpg

For my French and European followers, this is the very smallest size, after that you have to take the large. After two slices, Jade admitted defeat and, gasp, refused dessert!

20120629-062509.jpg

Our new house is an 1890 Tudor, the only one of it’s kind in the historic district of Honesdale. Although, because of it’s condition, it is no longer included in the tour of historic houses, it is still on the list and is shown as a drive by. We plan to change that!

20120629-063440.jpg

20120629-063336.jpg

Sausage and peppers.

20120629-161949.jpg

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Food and Wine, Italian, Main dishes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to A Small New York Pizza

  1. Michelle says:

    I love the house and pizza. Congratulations I love it.

  2. Laura says:

    House is wonderful! Let me know when you can manage visitors :)

  3. The house is absolutely wonderful, the pizza is not:)

  4. MixerUpper says:

    I’m with Roger. Good luck with renovations. Can’t wait to see inside!

  5. Karen says:

    I know that with a little TLC you will have your new home back to its former glory. I wish you many wonderful times spent there in the future. Congratulations.

  6. Tessa says:

    Beautiful Tudor! I’m betting that you have some gorgeous woodwork and decorative mouldings on the inside. And, in my opinion, New York style pizza is just delicious!

  7. Mad Dog says:

    I think I might manage more than 2 slices! Great house – I hope we’ll see the kitchen in use one day. What’s the sausage and peppers picture, a sub?

  8. That’s a beautiful house. And a beautiful pizza!

    • Thank you Greg. Eating in the U.S. is exhausting :)

      • why do you feel that way? explain please as I have not been to Europe.

        • Hello Anna. Food in the U.S., especially when you are not eating at home, tends to be fried, over sugared and heavy. Take for instance the meal we had at one restaurant; there was sugar in the bread, in the onion ring batter and in the dip for the onion rings. The bun was a mini loaf of bread, the fries gargantuan wedges, the salad limp and unattractive, the quantities staggering. As hot as it was, you would think that most people would drop dead after leaving the restaurant.

          In France, unless you go to the copy cat American style chains, you can get a fresh meal of local meats and vegetables served in realistic portions, instead of the precooked, then microwaved pseudo-food we were offered. And, there will be vegetables, unfried and the salad fresh or no one will be in the restaurant.

          Eating in the U.S. is exhausting, where most everything taste like chicken, even fish and meats, or like the cereals the animals have been fed. That’s why it will be wonderful when we set up our new house; I’ll be able to pick and choose what goes into our mouths and enjoy the non-GM products of my country.

  9. Too funny about the pizza – I remember going to the states aged 17 and being literally gobsmacked at the portions and being appalled I couldn’t drink!!
    Congratulations on the new home!

  10. Conor Bofin says:

    Lovely looking house. I hope you make it a real home. The pizza thing befuddles me.
    Best,
    Conor

  11. I reckon I could polish one of those bad boys off…. the pizza…not the house, though the house is stunning, love the anticipation in the first pizza pic
    Cheers
    Marcus

  12. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow, I wish I was there! Thats a good serving size.

  13. Your new house looks lovely!

    But that pizza is itty bitty!

  14. I love your new house!! I can’t wait to see your restorations!!

  15. Daoulé says:

    The house looks pretty !!! Brian said the kitchen is bigger than the one in France :)))

  16. The house looks lovely – I hope you’ll be very happy there. The pizza just looks to huge….but could be shared!

  17. Old houses have such character. They are my cupboards to put away my dishes in. How very beautiful. I don’t indulge in envy very often, but I felt a twinge when I looked at the picture and the pizza, well there’s that twinge again.

  18. Paula says:

    Congratulations for the house, enjoy it!!!
    And I prefer not seeing the big pizza, jajaja

  19. Carine says:

    Beautiful house and yummy pizza!
    I remember once my husband and I, before we permanently moved to the US, were driving from Boston to NYC, and we stopped for lunch in Valhalla. I had pasta but my husband ordered a pizza just for himself… the large one. The waitress kindly told us that large was, well, kind of big. But my husband was hungry and politely dismissed the waitress’ warning. Well, we ate pizza for dinner too ;-)

Leave a Reply

