The German Butcher’s Restaurant

20120628-082907.jpg

I neglected to mention that in addition to his shop of fresh and smoked meats, the German butcher has a very popular restaurant right next door. Jade had an enormous smoked pork chop with potato pancakes, applesauce and red cabbage.

20120628-083252.jpg

And when we thought dessert would be impossible, she ate a city block of Black Forest Cake. We need to go back to France soon :)

20120628-083822.jpg

My husband and I had Reubens with beer and wine. Lord help us!

Today we’re going over to the house to see what we can see. I’ve found an adapter for my IPad and can take some serious pictures today.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Food and Wine and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The German Butcher’s Restaurant

  1. ceciliag says:

    I actually really love german food, lots of potatoes and butter, my godmother is german and I love her food, but goodness it can pack on the pounds!! glad you are having fun. c

  2. Oh, the thought of tiny Jade making her way through all that food is so cute! I can see the appeal.. that cake.. oh my goodness! xoxo

  3. How come no one in the US has spotted the problem or do they just have a surplus of material to make very big clothes?

  4. Conor Bofin says:

    The pork chop looks very tasty. The cake looks extreme but manageable, at a push. The vast fried sandwich is a step too far for me. Looking forward to your return to Sens.
    Best,
    Conor

  5. Mad Dog says:

    Any pictures of the shop?

  6. MixerUpper says:

    That’s awesome! Sadly, our German butcher doesn’t have a restaurant, but we do have a revival of very authentic Biergartens in the area. There are lots of light, healthy options in Germany I wish more people knew about (wonderful fresh trout and delicate butter lettuce salads, for example, not to mention spargel!) I know you will be cooking some of those for us soon. ;-)
    In the meantime, I am looking forward to seeing your new house…

  7. Looks terrific! Love German food, but yeah, can’t eat it too often. Glad the food experience here is on the upswing. :)

  8. Looks like a wonderfully porky spread! That smoked chop looks divine covered in apple sauce. Swoon! Is this the butcher close to your new house?

Leave a Reply

