A Bus Load of French People

20120624-103013.jpg

Today we woke in Sterling, Va and left our room in time to partake of Best Western’s luxurious, complimentary breakfast and to watch a bus load of ravenous French tourists decimate the over sugared, GM food on offer. Jade was really pleased because everyone was speaking her language and they complimented her on her hat.

20120624-103439.jpg

Problem was, my husband’s plane from South Sudan was canceled and instead of arriving one hour before us, he will be arriving later today. In the meantime, I’m trying to learn how to post from my iPad. I hate that. I also forgot the camera/ iPad adapter and until I buy another one, photos will be iPad photos. I hate that too.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Food and Wine and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to A Bus Load of French People

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That breakfast is a rude awakening after France. I have a feeling you’ll make some more funny and insightful observations during your trip ;-)

  2. MixerUpper says:

    Looks delicious. ;-) Take heart, like Mad Dog says, you will have lots of opportunity for interesting observations. Jade looks beautiful, I like her hat too, and the iPad photos look good. You will have plenty of time to figure out the posting while you await your husband. I will wave to you as you pass through NJ (where we also have a fabulous German butcher) on your way to PA.

  3. I’m shocked that France would allow such culinary disasters as Fruit Loops (I think that’s what they are?) into the country… the horrors.. xo Smidge
    ps.. Jade.. you’re so gorgeous!! You have a heart-warming smile..

  4. Karista says:

    Awww… Healthy and tasty American food. :( its almost embarrassing. That aside, welcome to the states! Hopefully you will have the opportunity to dine on more delicious food during your stay. And Jade is just darling! I agree with Smidge, her smile is heart warming. Enjoy your visit!

  5. Pretty frightening breakfast. Here’s hoping you eat some delicious Virginian food ( am I right in thinking VA is is Virginia?) Jade is looking great.

  6. Mike says:

    We just moved from that area. There are actually a lot of great restaurants in the Sterling/Herndon area, plus Wegman’s in Sterling and Whole Foods in Reston for foraging. Let me know if you want any recommendations.

  7. Tessa says:

    Ugh… I am betting that those are not even real “Fruit Loops” :).

  8. Michelle says:

    Welcome home. :)

  9. I know you are American, but it’s still funny to see you in America. I’ll get used to it.

  10. Eva Marie says:

    I just moved from the DC area to Boulder, Colorado. I hope your American food experiences get better! I agree with Mike, Wegman’s is great.

  11. Your daughter is so gorgeous! When we were in the south of France, I was amazed with the amount of French fascination over McDonald’s considering the renowned and respected French food culture. But I guess anything gets old after a while and we all have to feel like we’re doing something wicked every now and then…and fruit loops are pretty bad!

  12. baconbiscuit212 says:

    I second Michelle: Welcome home!

    And what a luxurious home-coming breakfast ;-) How can Sens possibly compete with that?
    ;-)

Leave a Reply

