Teriyaki Rib Steak with Wax Beans

I know most of you have heard me criticize my mother for cooking all the color out of her vegetables.  As I prepared the wax beans today, I realized that I had neglected to say that her 1-2 hour green beans, etc. always tasted good; an unattractive gray but packed with flavor, just not vegetable flavor.  Sorry Mom, I think I’ve been unfair.  We always ate vegetables in our family, that’s why I was so stunned when I realized that vegetables were good, even without the overwhelming onion, garlic, ham hock taste :)  That’s not to say that my husband’s mother couldn’t have used a little flavor enhancement in her vegetables, because she certainly could have, but they were always perfectly cooked.

My vegetable philosophy, based on the two mothers’ strengths is that a vegetable dish should not only be good enough as a side (husband’s mother), but should also taste good enough alone (my mother).  I ate a small-medium bowl of the beans for lunch :)

So anyway, I fired up the grill for some teriyaki marinated rib steaks.  I have to stop blogging and get things ready for our trip to the U.S.  Buying a new house across the New York border and the Delaware river in Pennsylvania :)  Population 4,480.  You might ask why Honesdale, P.A. caught our fancy?  Guys, they have an old school German butcher there that could teach Jacques a few tricks!   Okay, no State taxes too.  But still.

Teriyaki Rib Steak with Wax Beans

2 rib steaks

1/4 cup mirin

1/4 cup soy sauce

1 1/2 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp sake

1 tsp ginger, minced

1 lb fresh wax beans

2 shallots, thinly sliced vertically

1 large red bell pepper, sliced vertically

2 tbsp butter

Salt and pepper

Mix the mirin, soy sauce, sugar, sake and ginger together.  Pour over the steaks in a zip lock bag, squish around and marinate for 2-3 hours.

Blanch the wax beans for 10 minutes, rinse with cold water, drain and set aside.  Saute the shallots and bell pepper in the butter until the shallots wilt, then toss with the beans, adding salt and pepper to taste.  Warm before serving.

Grill the steaks to taste and serve with the wax beans.

Wine suggestion:  Chiroubles

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Teriyaki Rib Steak with Wax Beans

  1. I never think to call them “wax” but indeed they are.. and one of my favorites veggies:) Are you moving to the US permanently at some point?? xo Smidge

  2. ambrosiana says:

    Beautiful looking steak! I never had wax beans before. I have never seen them here in Italy!!! Gotta try those!!!!.

  3. Tessa says:

    I love wax beans. They should be in season in a couple of weeks here. Your steaks look great too!

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Terrific steak – don’t stop blogging while away! We need to know about that butcher in Pennsylvania ;-)

    • Thank you Dog. Before we stupidly sold our house in New York, we used to go over to P.A. for our meat at the German butcher’s. Now, we’ll just be 5 minutes away and still close enough to relatives in New York. We’ll only be in P.A. to close on the house and have a look around ( I haven’t seen it yet). Our stuff that’s in storage won’t be in the house until August. God knows where I’ll be with daughter entering boarding school in Alsace in September. But at some point, I’ll be “CookinginHonesdale” :)

  5. I’ll have a dish of the beans please! I’ve seen recipes where the beans are cooked, and cooked and then cooked some more and I’ve never been able to bring myslef to attempt them. I’ll stick with blanching :)

  6. I haven’t seen wax beans in ages, but yours make me want some…soon! And some steak, too. How lovely to have a home so close to a great butcher! Safe travels and smooth closing to you. :)

  7. Tut, one shouldn’t criticise one’s own mother, Rosemary… Hah, I never do (cough). This looks fabulous! Such a good cut of meat.

  8. Paula says:

    I love this!! Wow, you always know what to do with meat, I love all your dishes!!
    I haver read that your husband is going to be in Europe soon, congratulations!! You must be sooo happy!! ;)

  9. My mother did the exact same thing to vegetables! And a lot of meat. Cooked to death. It’s why I didn’t discover my love of food until much later in life. If only I had plates like yours growing up!

  10. Michelle says:

    Such lovely wax beans. Unfortunately, when we find them here they’re usually way too big. OK, so “Cooking in Honesdale” doesn’t have quite the same ring, but we look forward to following along!

  11. rsmacaalay says:

    Ohhhh I want to have that slab of meaty goodness. Good choice of flavour! teriyaki

  12. What a wonderful looking meal! I love wax beans and your teriyaki steak looks delicious.

    Good luck on the move! A good butcher is very hard to find.

  13. Purabi Naha says:

    Holy Cow! You just combined all my favorite things! I am in trouble because I MUST make these now. Thanks for this fantastic idea!

    http://cosmopolitancurrymania.blogspot.com

  14. Karen says:

    At least your mother used seasoning, Rosemary. My mother just heated up a can of vegetables. The area along the Delaware River is lovely and has so many quaint towns.

    • Hi Karen. My husband grew up in this area in one of those quaint towns on the New York side :) At least your mom was honest; no reason to be any seasonings in canned vegetables.

  15. That steak looks soooo good! And we grew those beans last year, they were lovely but I didn´t know what they were called :)

  16. The beans look wonderful, and definitely good enough to eat on their own, although the steak looks great too. I hope the move goes well!

  17. I love this pairing and wouldn’t have thought to grill steaks this way. Silly me! They look fantastic.

  18. Pingback: Teriyaki Pork Steaks with Pan Fried Potatoes | Cooking in Sens

  19. Pingback: Market Mushroom Ragout | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

