Foie de Veau aux Figues

That’s right.  I can just hear Frugal http://frugalfeeding.com/ now, “She’s making liver again.  Isn’t that just offal”?   Yes Frugal, but it’s veal liver with figs and Portuguese port!   Think about it.

Pretty, pretty figs in the market.  That’s why I cooked lunch today.  I had planned leftovers but after 2 shots of French espresso with M. Parret, when I stepped into the market I heard voices, apparently coming from the fig bin.   And then, there was the calf’s liver in the freezer.

Foie de Veau aux Figues

6 fresh figs, quartered

3/4 cup Portuguese port

2 slices calf’s liver

Salt and pepper

Flour

2 tbsp butter

Pour the port over the figs and allow to macerate for 30 minutes or so.  Drain, reserving wine liquid.

Season the liver with salt and pepper, dredge in flour and fry, 3 minutes per side, in the butter.  Remove and set aside, keeping warm.

Add the drained figs to the pan and saute for 1-2 minutes.  Add the reserved wine and boil until the liquid is reduced by half.

Place the liver and figs in two plates and nap with the sauce.

Wine suggestion:  Regnie


About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Foie de Veau aux Figues

  1. To those of us who don’t care for it, liver is liver is liver. Foie by any other name is still…. I’ll take the plate of figs, though: maybe I’ll get some in France next week.

  2. ceciliag says:

    I love liver, if it has been well grown.. and figs wow.. this looks grand, gorgeous china too!

  3. I loved an earlier liver recipe you posted, and will give this a try as well. I adore fresh figs, and the ones in your photo are sheer perfection. As I enjoy your blog so much, I’ve nominated you for the Versatile Blogger’s Award. Details can be found on my blog – timetobeinspired.wordpress.com

  4. I don’t understand why liver is so under rated…just means more for us, liver lovers! :D
    Great recipe!

  5. Mad Dog says:

    You don’t have to convince me, I love offal ;-)

  6. Figs go so well with foie gras, so I’m sure this must taste wonderful! I love liver and offal of all kinds – such a waste not to use them.

  7. Foie de veau is my favorite. I love it. And those figs look divine! I can’t believe you have figs in the market right now. Are they local?

  8. You had me at “Foie” and the figs took it right home and (hopefully) into my kitchen. I’m one of those odd people who grew up eating liver and loving it:) xo Smidge

  9. Sounds offal, Rosemary :D. I don’t mind liver too much, it just doesn’t appeal to me in its complete form. Liver pate, for instance, is delicious. Perhaps I’ll come around. I promise to do a liver recipe in the next couple of weeks…

  10. Hi Frugal. If you would like to see if you can enjoy liver, first buy veal liver, second, cook it no more than 4 minutes per side. It should still be pink inside.

  11. That looks offal. Ha, I couldn’t resist. You know it looks so good that I need to make it a point to try this. I’ve come around on chicken livers so this will be my next try.

Leave a Reply

