Grilled Trout Groseilles and Thyme

One of my readers mentioned using a fish cage when grilling, which reminded me that I had one.  I had to find it first, then clean off the cobwebs but I’m glad I did.

This was the first time I used one but it was self-explanatory; a cage with 3 fish shapes and a hinge.  So easy and stress free to use!  Thanks, whoever that was!

Groseilles are red currants with a sweet, tart taste.  I stuffed some in the trouts’ bellies along with a few sprigs of fresh thyme.  Inspiration for this fish was from the French Saveurs’ recipe for mackerel.

These trout were in the freezer, just waiting for their chance to come out and shine!  One for me and one for Jade :)

Grilled Trout Groseilles and Thyme

2 trout, gutted

Salt and pepper

Olive oil

Currants

Fresh thyme

Make four slashes with a knife on each side of the trout.  Season with salt and pepper, then brush with olive oil.  Stuff with the currants and thyme, place in a fish cage, then grill on high heat for about 5-6 minutes per side.

Wine suggestion:  Meursault

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Grilled Trout Groseilles and Thyme

  1. Those look wonderful, trout is so tasty cooked like this.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  2. Nice pair of trout – never tried them with redcurrants. Certainly looks good.

  3. Villy says:

    They look wonderful. Very interesting the redcurrant stuffing!

  4. Cheap Luxury says:

    Mmmmm! Looks lovely – gorgeous pictures :) I have never seen red currants, we only get the dried raisin variety.

  5. You have a fish cage? You? But your kitchen is so sparse! I love the photos and the recipe!

  6. MixerUpper says:

    Yum! When’s lunch? Did the fish cage reduce the need for Pam?
    I love trout. We enjoy it butterflied, dusted in a light flour/cornmeal mix, then pan-fried with butter, lemon, and capers.

    • I don’t know if it did or not because I liberally sprayed the cage before putting the fish in :) I didn’t want to see any ripped off heads when I opened the cage. Thanks for the tip about the cage, though.

      Your butterflied trout sounds delicious! I’m going to have the fishmonger butterfly them for me next time!

  7. Tessa says:

    Look delicious! Reminds me that I have a “fish cage” buried somewhere in the garage… Time to go find it :).

  8. Oh my goodness. Look at those fish! Beautiful pictures. As you saw, I nominated you for the Food Stories Award. I love the work you’re doing here! http://foodstoriesblog.com/food-stories-award/

  9. Conor Bofin says:

    Excellent stuff. I once spent a small fortune on one of those fish holders. I left it in the shed unused due to an Irish summer. The next year, I took it out to find it rusted beyond use. You have demonstrated that they work.
    Best,
    Conor

  10. I love these kinds of simple preparations! They always make such beautiful and elegant food. These trout must have made a really nice meal. Good use of a fish cage!

  11. Mad Dog says:

    What a truite ;-)

  12. This looks and sounds delicious! I’ve never tried stuffing whole fish with red currant — fascinating!

Leave a Reply

