Grilled Rosemary Garlic Coquelet with Stuffed Baby Peppers

Since I found the baby bell peppers and Moroccan peppers at the Grand Frais, I’ve been wondering what I could do with them.  Food Network had a recipe that inspired me http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/giada-de-laurentiis/stuffed-baby-peppers-recipe/index.html and that I thought would go well with my coquelet languishing in the freezer.  The Moroccan peppers, unlike the baby bells, were Mexican hot!  Still, the flavor was good and they were probably the best tasting, serious chillies I’ve had since coming to France.  Authentic, Mexican food coming to this spot soon!

I took the opportunity to use my new cast iron grill pan, preheated and sprayed with Pam, cooking the coquelet, off flame, between the 2 outside burners of my gas grill.  My rosemary pots are looking very good right now, so I decide to combine some with juicy, fresh garlic as a marinade.

The peppers cooked up nicely and could serve as a rich and cheesy, light lunch.  Of course, I fiddled with the recipe a bit.

Grilled Rosemary Garlic Coquelet with Stuffed Baby Peppers

1 coquelet or cornish game hen

Salt and pepper

8 fresh garlic cloves, chopped

1 1/2 tbsp fresh rosemary, chopped

1 tsp lemon juice

2 tbsp olive oil

6 slices proscuitto, chopped

2 tbsp olive oil

1/2 onion, chopped

3/4 cup ricotta

1/3 cup grated Parmesan

1/2 cup small peas

Black pepper

16-20 baby bell peppers, tops cut off and reserved, then de-seeded.

Cut the coquelet up the back to remove the backbone, then flatten by pressing on the breast with the palm of your hand and season with salt and pepper.   Mix the garlic, rosemary, lemon juice and 2 tbsp olive oil together, smear all over the coquelet and refrigerate for 2 -4 hours.

Fry the proscuitto in 2 tbsp of olive oil until crisp.  Remove from the pan and drain on paper towels.  Add the onion to the pan, fry until soft, then allow to cool for 10 minutes.

Mix the proscuitto, onion, ricotta, Parmesan and peas together, season with black pepper, then stuff into the bell peppers.  Roast on an oiled baking sheet, at 350 F for 20-25 minutes until soft.

Grill the coquelet, off flame for about 40 minutes; 25 minutes skin side down, turn, then continue to grill for another 15 minutes.

Wine suggestion:  Chiroubles

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Grilled Rosemary Garlic Coquelet with Stuffed Baby Peppers

  1. The peppers look lovely, but sound as though they would be too hot for me. I do this kind of recipe with small sweet peppers from the garden when they’re ready….soon now! The coquelet with rosemary and garlic must have tasted wonderful!

  2. Tessa says:

    I just adore the little peppers! Never had the Moroccan peppers before though… They look similar to the banana peppers that I see here in the store.

  3. sybaritica says:

    Those are lovely little peppers and the stuffing looks delicious!

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Perfect garlic and I like the sound of those hot peppers too!

  5. rsmacaalay says:

    Those stuffed pepper must taste really good ricotta, proscuitto and parmesan, Yum!

  6. The whole dish looks so beautiful and those peppers are gorgeous – have never seen them here. I´d be going for the hot ones!

  7. Oh, baby! I love me a spatchcocked bird! This looks amazing. Peppers look divine. Buy ‘em up!

  8. These are the best-looking stuffed peppers I have ever seen.

  9. erin says:

    oh my gosh those peppers look so good! I love stuffed things. especially when they are stuffed with cheese.. yummm!

  10. bikinibrittani says:

    Close to the most beautiful plate I have ever seen!

  11. Oooh, the peppers look so good. Wow.

  12. Pingback: Sunday Sparkle: 17th June « Beast & Beauty

Leave a Reply

