Cherry Crumble

Yesterday morning, I moved from the freezer to the refrigerator what I thought to be a piece of travers du porc to cook and share with M. and Mme Parret because they raved about the travers I took to the Fete de Voisins  http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/06/02/fete-des-voisins-or-french-block-party/.  When I got around to taking a close look at it today, it was actually a large, pretty, pork belly.  Oh well, moving right along.  I could share with Jacques too.

Because I was impressed with the cure on the carbonnade I made yesterday http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/06/09/cured-pork-carbonnade-sandwiches-with-rosemary-garlic-mayonnaise/, yet annoyed that I didn’t soak it before grilling , I decided to see what would happen with a Morton Tender Quick pork belly, soaked before grilling.  Why not?  Also, I was curious to see if the skin would crisp up with the Tender Quick.  Meaningless that I was having a few friends over for lunch for this experiment; I’m from the old school of Experiments Gone Wrong and therefore had a chicken thigh back up.   Faux char sui, no less :)  Well, the pork belly didn’t crisp but it was enjoyed and not salty!

I made individual cherry crumbles for dessert.  It’s the season.

Cherry Crumble

6 cups pitted cherries

1 cup water

1/2 cup sugar

2 1/2 tbsps cornstarch

1/2 cup flour

3 tbsp + 1 tsp brown sugar

1/2 cup pecans, coarsely chopped

4 tbsp cold butter

Combine the cherries, water, sugar and cornstarch in a pot, bring to boil, then simmer for 10 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Divide the cherry compote into 8 individual ramekins.

Mix the flour, brown sugar and pecans together, the cut in the cold butter with fingers, 2 knives or pastry utensil.  Sprinkle on top of the cherries.

Bake the crumbles at 375 F for 25 – 30 minutes until brown and bubbly.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Dessert, Food and Wine, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

43 Responses to Cherry Crumble

  1. I love cherries and that just looks delicious!

  2. rsmacaalay says:

    Looks like the effort to satisfaction ratio here is quite high, look at that treat

  3. Delicious looking and so pretty in the individual dishes. We’re eating local cherries now, but they never get as far as being cooked as I love them so much just as they are!

  4. Very good looking cherry crumbles. I’ve never heard of Morton’s Tender Quick, but there was a mediaeval English tax called Morton’s Fork. It’s but a small move to America, with the Pilgrim Fathers, and Morton’s Pork:)

  5. I’m waiting for cherry season here, and seeing the photos of recipes I’m starting to get impatient!

  6. Mmmmm cherries. My mum bought me a whole bag to munch on when I was in France last week – I think they are my very favourite fruit (unfortunately they are very expensive over here, even in season).

  7. Those look amazing, love the juicy little dribbles over the side, a perfect picture :)
    Cheers
    Marcus

  8. ceciliag says:

    it is a delightful recipe, simple and tasty, letting the cherries shine and as always your presentation and image is just perfect.. c

  9. Mad Dog says:

    +1 from me – lovely presentation and image ;-)

  10. Tessa says:

    Gorgeous crumble! It’s almost cherry season here in Oregon:).

  11. putneyfarm says:

    Looks great and we pick cherries this week…we will be making this..

  12. Nice healthy ingredients for this recipe.

  13. How did you get your cherries to drip artfully in even stripes down the ramekin? Too clever.

  14. Villy says:

    Looks perfect! Great way to use the delicious cherries!

  15. I´m from the same Old School too ;) Wonderful dessert and it´s cherry time here too so you have inspired me!

  16. baconbiscuit212 says:

    Cherry crumbles with pecans! Oh, yes please!

    Looks amazing. A really good idea for cherries. We might have a super short season up here because the weather wiped out a lot of orchards. What we have is wonderful, but precious. Let’s hope the season for you is longer!

  17. Michelle says:

    Oh, yum. And beautiful, too.

  18. Shira says:

    This looks just stunning, I love the little self serve dishes! :)

  19. You’re all so far ahead of me.. I’m surely going to perish for wanting cherries and other such fruit that is growing in abundance everywhere else… I love this.. love your cherries.. and your pretty photo (and cup too!!) xo Smidge

  20. Pingback: Stealthy & Healthy « MoxieCyclingCo

  21. Pingback: Sunday Sparkle: 17th June « Beast & Beauty

  22. howra1456 says:

    love your recipe looks and sounds delicious, I cant wait to try it. I’m new to blogging please checkout my blog: silverlacevine.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

