Magret de Canard with Bok Choy

At the market today, the Vietnamese lady had some beautiful baby bok choy that I couldn’t resist.

I really didn’t have anything in mind for them until I just happened to loiter around Jean Louis’ duck stall.  Oops!  A duck breast flew into my basket!  What could I do?  I didn’t want to be rude.

Jade bought me this plate for French Mother’s Day.

I think I feel an Asian “kick” coming on :D

Magret de Canard with Bok Choy

1 duck breast, fat scored in a diamond pattern

5 spice powder

Glug of olive oil

2 star anise

3 baby bok choy, cut in half

3 spring onion bulbs, quartered

2 tbsp soy sauce

1/2 cup chicken broth

1 tbsp honey

Sprinkle the duck breast with the 5 spice powder and rub into both sides.  Fry the breast in the olive oil 6 minutes on the fat side, turn, then continue to fry 3-4 minutes.  Remove from the pan and allow to rest.

Remove all but 2 tbsp of the fat from the skillet and add the star anise, bok choy and spring onions, then saute for about 2-3 minutes.  Add the soy sauce, broth, honey and boil for about 2 minutes until the sauce thickens.

Plate the duck, bok choy, spring onions and drizzle with sauce.

Beverage suggestion: Petit Chablis

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Magret de Canard with Bok Choy

  1. Good mixture duck and bok choi. Reminds me of lunch in Chinatown, Soho.

  2. Tessa says:

    What a delicious combination! Pretty plate too! Last night I harvested the last of my bok choy from my garden. Now all I need is a duck :)…

  3. Mad Dog says:

    For a second I thought those were cloves of garlic on your plate, shame they weren’t, but delicious nonetheless ;-)

  4. putneyfarm says:

    Nice recipe, and of the the best photos of bok choy we have ever seen. The five spice with the duck sounds great…

  5. That is beautiful! I am kind of hopeless with Asian food. Have a 40% failure rate for rice in a rice cooker, and don’t know how to stir-fry at all. And the Asian dishes I do know? Came from vegetarian cookbooks written by non-Asians.

    It embarrasses my mother to no end. When her friends find out that I cook, they always look so surprised . . . !

    I love bok choy and duck. This looks amazing and inspires me to get out there and give Asian food another try!

  6. Luv duck. It’s been awhile but this makes me want to think seriously about it. Great pics as always!

  7. Anastasia says:

    Ohm… it looks so amazing! You made me hungry!

  8. I have five-spice powder, but haven’t used it much. Thanks for the inspiration. This whole meal looks great.

Leave a Reply

