Cilantro Chilli Skate Cheeks

Whenever I see fish cheeks at the fishmonger’s, I buy what they have.  There’s usually just enough to make a meal for two :)  Usually he has monkfish or cod cheeks, but this time he had skate cheeks.  So I simply browned them, mixed them with cilantro and chilli and popped some in the bowl that Thierry found for me at a village brocante.  They were good.

Cilantro Chilli Skate Cheeks

2-3 cups skate cheeks

Cornstarch for dusting

2 tbsp peanut oil

3 garlic cloves chopped

2 tbsp cilantro, chopped

1 tsp red chilli, chopped

1 tbsp soy sauce

1 tsp sugar

3 tbsp chicken broth

Dust the cheeks with the cornstarch and brown in the peanut oil.  Remove and set aside.  Add the garlic, cilantro, chilli and saute for 1 minute.  Add the soy sauce, sugar, chicken broth and reduce to a glaze.  Return the skate cheeks to the pan to warm and coat with the glaze.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Cilantro Chilli Skate Cheeks

  1. chefconnie says:

    I have never had fish cheeks. Sounds delicious and tender. I wonder if I can get them in the US?

  2. Jon says:

    Beautiful shots today and the combination sounds great. What’s the term in French for fish cheeks? I like preparing the Basque version kokotxas in green sauce.

  3. Conor Bofin says:

    I love monk cheeks. They are difficult to get here. A great treat when I get them. You have the right approach to cooking them.
    Best,
    Conor

  4. Karen says:

    Fish cheeks are something that you usually have to order in a restaurant here. Oh…the wonderful ingredients that are available to you.

    • Hi Karen. It’s probably because when they order fish, it’s from a bulk place that’s processing a lot of fish. Many times the heads are discarded but the restaurants ask for the cheeks. That’s what happens at my fishmonger’s place. They process the fresh fish and remove the cheeks to sell separately.

  5. Cod cheeks are a delicacy here in Newfoundland, usually served pan fried with scrunchions. Yours is a delicious combination.

  6. Ooh you lucky, lucky thing! We can sometimes get skate wings, but have never seen the cheeks here. Looks fantastic and love the bowl!

  7. I HAVE to seek myself out a little fish cheek soon – SUCH good cut (if you can call them that). Wonderful. You know how much I like coriander…

  8. This looks so good, especially in that blue bowl…

  9. Look at those sweet cheeks. I mean cheeks, sweet. OK, I’ll just leave now and come back tomorrow! (Looks great and pardon the cheekiness!)

  10. Karista says:

    I’ve never had skate cheeks but you’ve peaked my curiosity. We have halibut cheeks here in the Pacific. A delicacy and quite expensive but so worth it. I am now on the lookout for skate cheeks. The recipe looks delicious as always!

  11. Mad Dog says:

    I want some now ;-)

  12. Tessa says:

    I love that dish! And the skate cheeks look wonderful too!

  13. Food Stories says:

    Enjoying your site so I’m nominating you for the Illuminating Blogger Award for informative, illuminating blog content. I know not everyone participates in blog awards but I hope you’ll at least check it out because it’s a great way to discover new blogs and meet new web friends. If you’re interested in participating, you can check out the details at my site … http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/ … Either way, hope you’re having a great day!

  14. This looks SO tasty! As a newbie to cooking fish, could you substitute just normal monkfish for the cheeks, if cheeks aren’t available, and cook as per your instructions? Or would you cook for less/more time?

  15. Dan says:

    Great recipe, I do something similar with out the penut oil but that really works lovely. I always buy my fish from F.c Sopers fishmongers in nunhead London, they are an amazing fishmongers who always have fresh fish, even stuff that is hard to get. They also have smoked fish that they smoke there selfs on premises. A wonderful shop there’s no one else like them!!!! And what a fantastic recipe!!! :)

  16. Dylan says:

    Very nice recipe that you shared with us and thanks for the sharing recipe of cilantro chilli skate cheeks.

  17. Marshal says:

    Hey i love this dish, will you please share the recipe with us so that i can cook it by own.

Leave a Reply

