Le Patio: Les Tartines

Le Patio of Sens is a sandwich and salad bar restaurant located in downtown Sens, next to the market.  We visited a while back and tasted their very fresh salads http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/10/26/eating-around-le-patio/ and since then, we’ve wanted to go back for the tartines.  Today the weather was gorgeous and just perfect for lunch in the Le Patio garden.

The tartines came with a generous side of fresh salad greens, tomatoes and homemade mayonnaise.  American portions :)  I ordered the gluttonous ham, cheese and tomato tartine on fresh, toasted baguette.  Guess I’m skipping dinner.

Jade went for the more elegant, smoked salmon with creme fraiche on a toasted baguette. She has vowed to make this at home with the smoked salmon in the freezer.  Good idea :)

Gratuitous photo of Jade in her new sunglasses.

I love the glasses at Le Patio.  Most of them have something written on them and they are so festive and colorful in the garden.  The house Chablis was correct.

There’s always something new to notice at Le Patio.  I guess we missed this chair the last time.

A rich chocolate cake with creme Anglaise was the perfect finish to Jade’s meal.

I, saint like, had only coffee.

We’ll be back.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Food and Wine, French, Sandwich and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Le Patio: Les Tartines

  1. Wonderful as always.

  2. elychua says:

    Love your photos! :)

  3. Mad Dog says:

    That’s a tartine fit for a Spaniard (with all that ham) and it would suit me too! Jade’s baguette looks fit for a queen. I don’t think I saw your original post, but that’s been rectified now. What an excellent locale – I love the cow and the chair ;-)

  4. I’ve been nominated for a new award and I’m nominating you as I pass it on. Always a pleasure to visit here and want to share it with others. You can see it on my site http://www.susartandfood.com and check out the award site to get on their blog roll of winners. http://foodstoriesblog.com/illuminating-blogger-award/. This is an easy one rules wise at least. :)

  5. ceciliag says:

    gorgeous food .. and i am immediately going to go out and hang a chair in one of my trees! What was i thinking not having a chair in my tree!! c

  6. Nice pictures. I am hungry already.

  7. Tessa says:

    Lovely photos and cool post! I hope that you don’t mind that I have two questions today… What is the green beverage? And, what’s the story behind the chair in the tree? Have a great Memorial Day Weekend!

  8. Looks wonderful. And those are certainly American-sized portions!

  9. chefconnie says:

    Such beautiful women.
    Here in the United States I am worried when trying a restaurant because I am often put in the position where I have to control myselft and not throw the food that is served to me back at the cook.
    Living in Boulder Colorado this is less likely than other places in the US. We are blessed with some seriously great restaurants for such a small college town.
    In France the restaurants seem to have an unwritten rule that you actually cook the food you serve your customers where in the US it is accepted to buy pre-made everything! Many restaurants and most restaurant chains have commissaries where the food in prepared and sent in to the restaurant to be re-heated. These places are just McDonalds with waitresses.
    I love your posts about eating out because I can dream of a day when real honest cooked food is served in most restaurants in the United States.

    • Unfortunately, I don’t think that will happen. In fact, I read an article the other day about Parisian restaurants, because of prices, becoming more American by substituting pre-made ingredients for fresh. Bizarrely, that is less likely where I am in the country because the customers here would really throw the food back at the cook :)

  10. That looks great! The weather here has been so good today and yesterday 28-30 celcius! Mad. I’ve been enjoying a few ciders on the end of Aberystwyth pier :D. Wish I had had one of these :D

  11. Cath says:

    The lady friend of yours named Jade, is beautiful. Lovely food photos as always.

  12. trangquynh says:

    wow, gorgeous food and photos, look forward for your next post and more stunning dishes ^^ Have a nice day :)

  13. And here I thought big portions were an American thing. Looks great!

  14. Mmmh! Gotta love a tartine… Looks like a lovely restaurant.

Leave a Reply

