Salade Gesiers de Canard

I was in the market this morning to pick up some beef short ribs I had ordered, cut American style.  The butcher was right next to Jean Louis, the foie gras man http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/03/26/grilled-mint-yogurt-lamb-chops/ and he had some nice looking duck gizzards that said salad to me.  He explained at length why they were better than chicken gizzards, but I was already sold.  I picked up a little roquette, some cherry tomatoes and brebis cheese.  This was going to be “healthy”.  To a certain extent :)  This salad is so French but if you like chicken gizzards, this salad is for you.  In fact, you can make it with chicken gizzards.

Eating gizzards is so Deep South.  How did the French learn about this good thing?  Okay, they’re doing it with duck gizzards, but they know!

In my freezer distraction, I haven’t made quail eggs in a while and thought I’d get her done today, in addition to using one of my flavored vinegars that I’ve been stock piling.

Looks like I need to buy some more piment d’Espelette that I’ve been pouring out like water.  It’s good!  Too bad I forgot to put the creamy, rich, melty brebis cheese on before I took the picture of the salad but it was on there when I ate it :)  Pretty jar of goose fat in the background.

Isn’t food, photography and life grand?  Thank you God and Roger http://stowell.wordpress.com/!

Salade Gesiers de Canard

1 lb duck or chicken gizzards

Salt

Pepper

Garlic powder

1 tbsp duck or goose fat

2 bulbs red spring onions, sliced

1 cup country bread, cubed

Piment d’Espelette

Mixed salad greens

8-10 cherry tomatoes, halved

8-10 quail eggs, hard boiled and halved

1/2 cup brebis cheese, cut into small cubes and refrigerated until needed

Roquette

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp raspberry vinegar

Season the duck gizzards with the salt, pepper and garlic powder, then brown in the goose fat over a medium high flame.  Cover, lower flame and simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.  Remove and set aside.

Add the onions to the skillet and cook until soft.  Add the cubed bread and gently toast for about 2 minutes.  Add the gizzards, stir and cover for about 2 minutes.  Sprinkle with piment d’Espelette.

Divide the salad greens among 4 plates, top with the gizzards, tomatoes, quail eggs and brebis cheese.  In a careless manner, scatter some roquette on top.  Blend the olive oil and vinegar, then drizzle over the salads.

Wine suggestion:  Petit Chablis

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Salade Gesiers de Canard

  1. Jon says:

    I love gesiers! same basic approach, but for the dressing I make a hibiscus (flor de jamaica) vinaigrette with honey and oregano and cider vinegar.

  2. Tessa says:

    That is one gorgeous salad Rosemary! I love those quail eggs… I wish I could find them here locally…

  3. This is fantastic, as per, Rosemary. I have never tried gizzards (let’s face it, they’re rather gross), but I’m sure they do taste rather fantastic when prepared like this! You do like your quail’s eggs don’t you?!

    • Thank you Frugal. When you cook a chicken, what do you do with the gizzard that’s inside?

      • Chicken you buy in Britain generally has the innards removed and thrown away, unless you specifically request some… Most people in this country can be a little squeamish you see. To be honest, I don’t often cook chicken – quite a lot of it’s cuts are overrated in my opinion. I’d rather not waste certain parts of the bird and just plump for the good quality cuts.

  4. putneyfarm says:

    This is a great post. Good photos and recipes. We are Ok with gizzards (or anything fried) and these look great.

  5. Spoon Feast says:

    I never have had gizzards, this looks tempting.
    You have been awarded the “One Lovely Blog” award! You can pick it up on my blog at http://www.spoonfeast.com
    Congratulations!

  6. Looks fabulous – as always. Such interesting ingredients. Yum

  7. Mad Dog says:

    Delicious – I stayed in a village south of Le Mans, where the gesiers factory is a big local employer. They seemed to come with every meal, but I really enjoy them (I think I might even have a tin or two in the cupboard)!

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    Excellent. I approve of the beautiful quali eggs. The whole dish looks wonderful.
    Best,
    Conor

  9. Paula says:

    I’d eat this without the gizzards. Sorry, I can’t!!! But the other things are sooooo perfect!! Love mixing cherry tomatoes and quail eggs. And the croutons are always salad best friend :P

  10. I always love la salade de gesiers when I’m in the south-west of France, or anywhere really, but that’s where I’ve seen it most often. Yours looks wonderful too!

  11. I’m good with gizzards! When I was in London in September, I had a salad with duck hearts. Very similar to this. It was so yummy and I bet yours was really yummy too.

  12. sybaritica says:

    Chicken gizzards have just started appearing regularly in our local stores. I have thinking about trying them and this looks like a great recipe to start with!

  13. Michelle says:

    So, these were fresh gizzards, not confit? No matter, as I love both. What a lovely salad.

  14. Absolutely beautiful and yes, we love our gizzards here too!

  15. Beautiful salad. I’ve never had gizzards in a salad before. Looks delicious.

  16. bellacorea says:

    This sounds so great! I should try it soon!

  17. rsmacaalay says:

    I love gizzards but never tried the ones from duck, do they taste the same? I will definitely enjoy that salad.

  18. You select such wonderful ingredients and do such wonderful things with them.

  19. Pingback: M. Parret Eats French a la Americaine: Salade Gesier and Cherry Mousse | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

