Stuffed Pork Filet Mignon with Sauteed Spinach and Roasted Sweet Potato

Cruising through the market today looking for thinly sliced sirloin for the Pho http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/05/23/what-were-having-pho-lunch-tomorrow/ , Jade and I saw this pork filet mignon, stuffed with bacon and goat’s cheese.  What could we do?  After we purchased the filet, we asked the butcher how it should be cooked.  He had a printed recipe on hand and cautioned us to follow it exactly.  Yeah, right.

But when I looked at the recipe at home, it seemed correct.  So I followed the recipe exactly and I’m glad I did.  It was delicious!

It you wanted to duplicate the stuffed filet, I imagine you’d butterfly a pork filet, spread it with goat’s cheese, sprinkled cooked bacon and herbs on top of the cheese, roll and tie with string.  Slices of goat’s cheese on top of the roll, before tying, is optional but pretty.  From there, salt and pepper the filet, brush with olive oil and roast at 350 F for 30 minutes.  Remove from the oven and add 2 chopped shallots to the bottom of the pan, then pour in about a cup of cream, return to the oven for 15 minutes.

I made roasted sweet potatoes and sauteed baby spinach to accompany the roast.

Roasted Sweet Potato and Sauteed Spinach with Bacon

2 medium size sweet potatoes

Olive oil

1/2 cup bacon

1 tbsp olive oil

1 lb baby spinach

Preheat the oven to 350 F.  Brush the sweet potatoes with olive oil and poke a few holes with a fork.  Roast for 1 hour, remove skin and slice.

Cook the bacon in a skillet until almost crispy, then set aside to drain.  Remove all but 1 tbsp of bacon fat from the skillet, add the tablespoon of olive oil and saute the spinach until just wilted.

To serve, plate the spinach and tuck slices of sweet potatoes inside.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Stuffed Pork Filet Mignon with Sauteed Spinach and Roasted Sweet Potato

  1. I’m doing this the wrong way round, oh well. Looks gorgeous :D. I love the dish :)

  2. putneyfarm says:

    Beautiful photos!

  3. chefconnie says:

    Fabulous. I am always looking for great pork tenderloin recipes. They are at such a good price at our local Costco. I usually coat them with a chili dry rub and grill and top with a fig glaze but I have to try this way!

  4. Amazing! When the French get it right, the French really, really get it right. I wouldn’t have been able to resist it either!

    • Hi Daisy. I think, as for all food preparation, it depends on who’s doing the preparing and if they like what they are doing. I’ve used some traiteurs who just slap it on out there with a “it is what it is” attitude that the French are experts at. One of these catered a New Year’s party for me. Bleah! Then there’s others who are excited by and proud of what they produce, not big on quantity but uncompromising on quality.

      This butcher only caters one type of dish for each market, and only a few of those. In addition to paying for the dish, you are obliged to listen to the “rules” for preparation and, to prevent any mistakes, are handed a printed recipe that he feels he needs to read to you, in case you’re illiterate. But, boy howdy, he has my admiration and my continued patronage. He also has quality, well presented meats.

  5. Mad Dog says:

    It looks excellent and great to find a good butcher.

  6. Oh that’s so sad. That’s true everywhere when you have people who prepare things with no love or care. The French do have that attitude too. It’s strange that those people are still in business because I feel like French people avoid rude French people too.

    I am glad to hear that you have a good butcher! Did you see David Lebovitz’s posts on lamb “melons”?

    http://www.davidlebovitz.com/2012/05/lamb-melons-agneau-french-butcher/

    Pretty awesome. He has a follow up too where he cooks a turkey one:

    http://www.davidlebovitz.com/2012/05/turkey-melon-french-market-melon-dinde/

    • Thanks for the link! I’ve never seen those lamb melons. They look fantastic and I have to agree with him, they resemble giant paupiettes. Fabulous! Great market pictures. The cooked melon is also great. I subscribed to his blog. Thank you :)

      • David’s blog is amazing! Glad you are following too!

        Those meat melons look fantastic too! I am a little tempted to try to make my own, but one look at the photos lets me know that those melons are the work of a butcher who has made hundreds, if not thousands. Can’t compete with that kind of expertise!

        • What the heck! You could probably do it. Make a large paupiette. I’ve bought those from traiteurs. I’m going to search around on French sites to see what I can discover.

        • Looks fiddly. Most recipes that call for lamb melon just say ask your butcher to make it. But I found this video http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x8gz3v_ficelage-epaule-agneau-en-melon_lifestyle. He takes a boned lamb shoulder, forms it into ball and ties it to that shape. I imagine, before you shape it, you’d shove the stuffing in. Looks fiddly.

          • Thanks for the research and for the link to the video! Hmmm, that does look fiddly. But it’s a good idea to ask a butcher to do it for you. There are some butchers here in town who would probably be game to try it out if I showed them what it was.

            One day if I work up the gumption, I might attempt it! It does look super good, doesn’t it?

            • It looks fantastic! I thought of doing it myself. I could work up a stuffing and form it into a ball but trying to tie it in decent fashion would make me miserable :( I’m not good at that sort of thing. When I move to Germany in the fall, my husband will be there and I might try it with him doing the kitchen string bit. In the meantime, I’m for sure ordering one from my butcher :)

              • That sounds like a plan! I was thinking that I would have to show the photos from David’s blog to him. Maybe even print them out so he can keep them.

                As for tying it up, I think I would need an extra set of arms and hands to hold everything together and tie the knots!

  7. Michelle says:

    Looks delicious! You really mix the flavors that make my mouth water.

  8. Villy says:

    Delicious and beautiful way to serve it!

  9. Karista says:

    Looks absolutely delicious, and so pretty on the plate. I love a good filet and stuffed with spinach sounds divine!

Leave a Reply

