Lemon and Honey Salmon with Chinese Cabbage

It’s been a while since our last salmon fix.  Today’s the day!  We prefer our salmon skin on, so that’s why it was beyond annoying when I thawed the beautiful salmon fillets from the fish monger and discovered that they weren’t scaled.  Instead of following my first mind, which was to take them down to the shop and have him finish the job, I took a deep breath,  gave him the benefit of the doubt and scaled them myself.  Not happily :(  He is always so responsive and helpful it must have been an understandable mix up in his mind between me and some pioneer woman; he has mentioned cowboys and American Indians a few times.  Anyway, all’s forgiven :)  I’ll be sure to make a point of asking for scaling next time.

I like Napa or Chinese cabbage.  It isn’t always available here, but when it is, I grab some. It cooks so quickly and is so delicious that you don’t really need to wait for the salmon to have a little bowl :)

I love all fish, but salmon is to fish, as Champagne is to wine!

Lemon and Honey Salmon with Chinese Cabbage

4 salmon fillets, skin on

1/4 cup melted butter

1/4 cup honey

Juice of 1 lemon

1 tbsp sunflower oil

1 tbsp sesame oil

1 red bell pepper, sliced

2 shallots, thinly sliced

2 garlic cloves, slivered

1/2 Chinese cabbage, sliced

1-2 tbsp kombu tsuyu

Black sesame seeds

Mix the butter, honey and lemon juice together, pour over the salmon fillets in a zip lock bag, squish around, then refrigerate for 2-3 hours.

Heat the oils in a wok until hot, then add the bell pepper, shallots and garlic, then stir fry for 2 minutes.  Add the cabbage and stir fry for an additional 2 minutes.  Stir in the kombu tsuyu, set aside and keep warm.

Remove the salmon from the zip lock, drain, pat dry, then sear in a hot skillet, turning every 2 minutes until you are satisfied; about 6-8 minutes.

Sprinkle the sesame seeds over the cabbage and serve with the salmon.

Beverage suggestion:  Sake or Champagne.  It’s up to you.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Asian, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Lemon and Honey Salmon with Chinese Cabbage

  1. The seared salmon looks wonderful. I used to cook so much Chinese food, but my wok is gathering dust at the moment. Time for a change:)

  2. ceciliag says:

    We also eat salmon, at least once a week, so I am thrilled to have another recipe for it and weirdly john has grown chinese cabbage in the garden this year which I was not sure how to prepare!! excellent choice this morning rosemary! c

  3. Tessa says:

    Your sear on the salmon is perfect! I have bok choy in the garden and a filet in the freezer. Sounds like dinner tomorrow!

  4. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent salmon!

  5. Definitely too pretty to eat.

  6. Karista says:

    Delicious recipe! And just in time for our Pacific Northwest seasonal Copper River Salmon that just arrived last week. Love the lemon and honey combo with the distinct flavors of the salmon. Brilliant!

  7. Villy says:

    I love salmon, we eat so often! I’ll definitely try this recipe!

  8. Conor Bofin says:

    We have salmon on a weekly basis. We have become very boring with it. Grilled with steamed spinach and baby potatoes. I have to get inventive. Mind you, I have to get home from work / gym in time to actually do the cooking. That would be a start.
    Best,
    Conor

  9. Looks wonderful, Rosemary. You know, what you said about my cake making in your last post has resonated with me a little – my roots lie firmly in savoury cooking, so I’m returning with gusto. Plus, and this is exciting, I have a new camera :D – a lovely little DSLR. SO excited to use it properly in the morning.

  10. We have salmon almost every few days, on occasion substituted by trout or Arctic Char.. I think this recipe would work for all three.. Lovely cabbage on the side as well! xo Smidge

  11. This looks beautiful!

    I was kind of hoping you actually marched that fish back to your fishmonger because the story and the photos (I would hope you would take your camera) would have been priceless! If you defrost any more fish with scales, a visit might be warranted to make sure your fishmonger knows who he’s dealing with ;-)

  12. rsmacaalay says:

    Sounds like a very good flavour combo for a salmon dish

  13. So beautiful and healthy looking!

  14. Pingback: Salmon recipe – Filed under, “I Cooked”!! « Enter, Fitness!

Leave a Reply

