Bucatini with Meatballs

Does it count against me in the “The Game of Freezers” that I took out ground pork and veal to make meatballs, but put in a really irresistible pork belly? It’s not my fault.  I was just wandering through the market, looking for vegetables, when the pork belly called my name.  In English. Waiver.

I found the cutest red spring onions and baby artichokes at a stall I don’t usually frequent,  but should.  Once I build a relationship with a particular stall, I feel guilty about passing by my regular and going to another that sells the same thing.  I imagine accusatory looks, or maybe it’s not my imagination.  On really busy days like today, I can slide on by without them noticing :)

Bucatini is a heavier, spaghetti shaped pasta that I particularly like because it has a hole running through the center.

Bucatini with Meatballs

Bucatini

Meatballs

1/2 lb ground pork

1/2 lb ground veal

1/2 onion, chopped

1 tbsp parsley, chopped

3 tbsp bread crumbs

1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, grated

1 tsp garlic powder

Salt and pepper

2 eggs beaten

Mix all the ingredients together, form into balls and bake in a 350 F oven for 20 minutes.  Remove, cool and refrigerate until ready to use.

Sauce

1 small onion, chopped
3-4 large cloves of garlic, minced
1/3 cup olive oil
2 28 ounce cans of crushed tomatoes
2 basil leaves, chopped
1 tsp oregano
1/2 tsp sugar
1/4 cup of red wine
Salt and pepper to taste

Fry the onion and garlic in the olive oil until the onion is soft.  Add everything else and simmer for at least 2 hours, all day is better.  Add the meatballs and continue to simmer for about 20 minutes.

Cook the bucatini pasta according to package directions and top with the sauce and meatballs.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Italian, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Bucatini with Meatballs

  1. Mad Dog says:

    It’s the pork’s fault – a French pig that speaks English is impossible to resist!
    I believe that one is supposed to put things into the freezer and remove things to cook, though mine does seem to be a relative of yours (I put a smoked duck breast in there this morning and took nothing out) – mine must be the North West Pole ;-)

  2. tessa says:

    Lovely pasta dish… Keep cooking gorgeous meals like that and I advise that you buy another freezer :).

  3. It looks lovely. Great photography too!

  4. That does look the business – excellent:)

  5. Wow, I don’t think I’ve tried bucatini – this looks yummy.

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    Beautiful as ever. On the freezer, (unlike the bank account) it’s OK as long as you took out more than you put in.
    Best,
    Conor

  7. Looks an awful lot like pici! I adore pici. Looks beautiful, Rosemary.

  8. I’m not sure.. I don’t play the freezer game here.. I just chuck unwanted stuff in mine, let it freezer over and occasionally chisel something out of the ice when desperate. Certainly I would never find the fixings for a dish this pretty!

  9. That looks fresh and hearty at the same time. Nice job!

  10. Michelle says:

    I know just how you feel about the market vendors. Steve always reminds me: “We can’t keep all of them in business. There are only two of us.” Still, the must-buy-something-from group keeps getting larger. Beautiful pasta!

  11. So pretty with all of the different reds: sauce, wine, plates. And I like it that you made your meatballs small.

  12. Beautiful pictures. They all make me hungry. I don’t know why, but I love bucatini and it is not easy to find in the U.S.

  13. Lovely shot of the onions and artichokes, and the meatballs look delicious too!

  14. I love the idea of spaghetti with a hole in the center. I’ve looked for it here in the U.S. but haven’t found it yet. Cute story about passing your ‘usual’ vendor to check out another!

  15. Haha! That reminds me of that saying that if you buy a new article of clothing, you need to give away something in your closet. I don’t think there is anything wrong with tucking away a little pork belly just in case, like just in case the water runs out ;-)

    This looks amazing though. Wonderful color on that sauce! And I just bought red spring onions too! Must be the transatlantic vibes!

  16. Pingback: Sunday Sparkle: 20th April « Beast & Beauty

  17. Karista says:

    You never fail to make me hungry! Haha! Delicious recipe!

Leave a Reply

