Oven Pork Chops with Sauteed Apples

Because I was gallivanting around with Jade this morning, drinking coffee with Jacques, visiting the market and the pharmacy, chatting with M. Parret, I didn’t have much time to think about today’s lunch, so this was fast, easy and good.  We’re going to have some more tonight :)

I had a package of thin loin pork chops in the freezer and decided I’d cook them using  “the ole flour and butter in the oven” method.  Not big on applesauce, I sauteed some apples with butter and hard cider.  Much, much better choice, no matter what my husband says :)

Oven Pork Chops with Sauteed Apples

8 thin sliced pork chops

Salt and pepper

Flour

1 tbsp butter

2 red apples, cored and cut into eighths

2 yellow apples, cored and cut into eighths

1 large onion, sliced

2 tbsp butter

5-6 sprigs thyme

2 tbsp hard cider

Season the pork chops with salt and pepper, dust with flour.  Melt the 1 tbsp butter in a shallow baking pan, then add the chops.  Bake in a 425 F oven for 20 minutes, turn and bake for another 15 minutes.

While the chops are baking, saute the apples, thyme and onion in the 2 tbsp of butter until the apples are crisp tender.  Add the hard cider and boil for 1 minute.  Serve with the pork chops.

Wine suggestion:  Bourgogne Aligote

 

 

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Oven Pork Chops with Sauteed Apples

  1. Mad Dog says:

    They look like lovely pork chops ;-)

  2. Nothing like a bit of hard cider – a classic combination beautifully executed, Rosemary.

  3. Tessa says:

    What a beautiful chop! I agree with you in regard to the sauteed apples and hard cider… It beats the baby food every time:)!

  4. trialsinfood says:

    that looks so good! and so simple to make too.

  5. If this is lunch at your place.. my family had better not find out!! This is gorgeous!!

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    The baby food is an option if you use cooking apples and add some ginger and brown sugar. I sometimes also add a bit of chili but that is not popular with all. Having said all that, the sauteed apples look excellent.
    Best,
    Conor

  7. sybaritica says:

    The apples look great and I like the idea of the hard cider. I think I might try this with a little sage added. Goes great with both pork and apples…

    BTW … the photography is very well done

  8. I prefer sautéed apples to applesauce too! Why sacrifice texture for pablum?! You also got some great color on those chops. At first glance, I could have sworn they were panfried. I love that you did them in the oven!

  9. Oh, yes, please, I want some of those apples!

  10. Paula says:

    Mmmm, I love pork chops!! And I love using apples with chicken and pork. So perfect!!
    The chops have a really nice colour!! I never have rub with flour to cook them in the oven, perhaps this is a tip for that delicious color??
    Anyway, I have to try it, I want an easy and fast dinner as this!! :)

  11. chefconnie says:

    Lovely piece of meat. So many stores in the US only sell boneless but I usually can get a good chop with bone in at Whole Foods. Pork and apples are a huge favorite in my house. Especially when the apple tree has fruit!

  12. rsmacaalay says:

    I love to see this combination here, I love that flavors pork and apples.

  13. Pingback: Pan Seared Pork Chops with Rhubarb Salsa « LauraLovingLife

  14. Pingback: Pork with baked apples for dogs served with mushy peas and carrotsBlog Barks | Blog Barks

  15. Very elegant and perfectly nice.

  16. Pingback: Best Crockpot Pork Chops « Healthy Ways to Lose Weight My Top Weightloss

  17. Pingback: Meal plan 01.04.13 | Julie's Doodle Blog

  18. Pingback: One-skillet pork chops with sauteed apples and onions | Julie's Doodle Blog

Leave a Reply

