Boudin Noir with Pear and Potato Gratin

Today was boudin noir’s turn to come out of the freezer.  I was pretty happy about this; our market guy makes the best boudin noir whether mixed with apples or onions or just plain and is hot and ready to eat.  Love it!

In addition, I had two pears in the fruit bowl, begging to be moved on.  Thus, the individual potato and pear gratins.  Sinfully rich!  To make a large gratin, just expand the recipe 3 or 4 times.

Boudin Noir with Pears and Potato Gratin

2 pears, thinly sliced

2 large potatoes, thinly sliced

1 1/2 cup comte cheese, grated

1 1/2 cup cream

Piment d’espelette

Salt

Pepper

2 links of ready to eat boudin noir

Butter

Butter two large individual ramekins.  Layer each of the ramekins with some potato slices, pear slices, 1/4 cup cheese, 1/4 cup cream and sprinklings of piment, salt and pepper.  Repeat 2 more times.

Bake the gratins, covered with aluminum foil, in a 350 F oven for 25 minutes, uncover and continue to bake for another 25 minutes until bubbly and brown.

Poke several holes in each boudin link with a fork.  Brown the boudin in the butter on all sides.  Serve with the gratin.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Boudin Noir with Pear and Potato Gratin

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That does look like an excellent boudin noir – I wonder what’s next from the North Pole…

  2. Tessa says:

    Your gratins are gorgeous!

  3. I would never have thought of potato and pear together, bound by cheese and cream.

  4. A pear and potato gratin…what a brilliant idea! It all looks delicious…and I’m not even a fan of boudin noir. :)

  5. Jon says:

    That’s the approach I would use, looks delicious!

  6. Pingback: Grow A Pear (part two) | eitheory.com

  7. Paula says:

    It took me years to taste the boudin noir (I suppose it’s similar to Spaniard morcilla), and now I love it!!
    For me, it’s very original the idea of serving this with a potato gratin. Never have seen that! In a toast with apple, as you said, or even with some cheese is how we eat at home.

    I’ll keep the recipe, because, pear and potato gratin sounds really delicious, even if I don’t know if I mix it with boudin noir ;)

  8. buntworthy says:

    I love pears with parsnips, but never tried with potatoes, sounds good though.

  9. Michelle says:

    Your gratin looks grand. We’re working on our freezers, too, and it’s going pretty slowly…

  10. Potato and pear gratin looks lovely. I bet it paired well with the boudin. I love a good boudin noir. You’re lucky to be able to just reach into your freezer for one :-)

  11. What a nice healthy mix.

  12. rsmacaalay says:

    I never hear of boudin noir? is it something like a black pudding?

  13. That gratin looks and sounds amazing (would never have thought to do that) and I adore boudin noir (I´d use morcilla here).Am enjoying emptying your freezer!

  14. Mel says:

    Ooo I’m intrigued by the combination of pears and potato in your gratin – I’ll definitely be trying that out! Gosh, I miss boudin noir…

  15. Oh the wonderful things that come out of that freezer and your head!

  16. Pingback: מתכון לתפו"א בשמנת וערמונים או פטריות (סוג של גרטן) « אני נגד. ככה. הבלוג של זיו.

Leave a Reply

