Tagliatelle with Bacon and Peas

The “Game of Freezers” continues with this wonderful pasta made from frozen fresh tagliatelle, frozen peas and frozen bacon.  Still working on the freezer in the North(the house) and looking forward to the time I can press on to the bountiful South and its lamb chops (the garage).

Inspiration for this recipe comes from Educated Palate http://giulianohazan.com/blog/tagliatelle-with-peas/.  I added the bacon and garlic.

Tagliatelle with Peas and Bacon

1 cup bacon, diced

2 tbsp olive oil

1 onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, chopped

2 cups frozen peas

1/2 cup water

Pepper

1 lb fresh tagliatelle

Brown the bacon, remove from the pan and drain.  Add the olive oil, onions and garlic to the same pan and cook until the onion is golden.  Add the peas, water and pepper, then cook for 5 minutes.  Remove half the peas, puree and put back in the pan along with the bacon, blending well.

Cook the pasta and drain, reserving 3/4 cups of the cooking liquid.  Add this liquid to the peas, warm, then toss with the pasta.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Italian, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Tagliatelle with Bacon and Peas

  1. Oh that supermarkets had your ingenuity in knocking up dishes from frozen goods:)

  2. Mad Dog says:

    I think it needed the bacon and garlic ;-)

  3. Yum and thanks for reminding me I have pancetta! Bacon’s in my freezer too.

  4. Your tagliatelle looks stunning. I think the addition of garlic to pretty much any dish can improve it massively and this is no exception. The idea of adding bacon, together with the garlic, to a fresh tasting pea pasta dish is brilliant. Thanks for sharing the wonderful recipe

  5. Tessa says:

    Lovely dish! Game of Freezers… Hilarious!

  6. I am so enjoying your freezer adventures. Yours appear to be well-stocked, giving you an advantage in the “What’s in the Freezer” sweepstakes.

  7. We can get lot of surprises with the Freezer game.

  8. Simple and delicious – just as a pasta dish should be. I agree with M. Perret about food from supermarkets, but they’re necessary for other household goods.

    • I’m not really prejudiced against supermarkets, I’m American after all. However, I like shopping in the covered market, 2 minutes by foot from my house.

  9. Looks amazing! I had a double take when I read your post. Two freezers! My goodness! I thought there was just one!

    • No Daisy. I don’t have 2 freezers. I have 2 refrigerators with freezers. That’s why I never have any room. I need a freezer but that’s going to have to wait until I come back from Germany.

  10. Delicious, Rosemary. I’m making my own pasta tomorrow for the first time, I’m so excited!

Leave a Reply

