Buttery Oven Baked Chicken Wings

This used to be the only way I would make chicken wings; coated with seasoned flour and baked in butter.  The wings are crispy on the outside, juicy and tender inside.  After that, if I wanted a sweet sauce, I would toss them in either barbecue or a honey mustard sauce and bake for an additional 10-15 minutes.  Quick and easy, thawing them takes the most time.

Buttery Oven Baked Chicken Wings

2 lbs chicken wings, cut into two pieces

1 tsp garlic powder

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1 cup flour

1 knob of butter

Mix the seasonings with the flour.  Toss the chicken wings in the seasoned flour.  Melt the butter in a baking pan in a 425 F oven, then place the wings in one layer in the pan.  Bake the chicken for 25 minutes, turn and bake for an additional 15-20 minutes until golden brown and crispy.

Serve with Roquefort Dressing http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/02/28/crispy-veal-sweetbreads-with-roquefort-dressing/

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Appetizer, Cooking, Food and Wine, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Buttery Oven Baked Chicken Wings

  1. Michelle says:

    Looks yummy. I am going to try this.

  2. Mad Dog says:

    I love American style chicken wings – you don’t see them so much in Europe.

  3. Hi Mad. It is really difficult to find them in the markets and supermarkets, so when I do, I load up on them and put them in the freezer.

  4. Villy says:

    Perfect! Of course with the Roquefort sauce!

  5. Tessa says:

    Wings and Roquefort… Delicious!

  6. They look very nice. Making me hungry already. Its oven baked so nice healthy factor.

  7. ceciliag says:

    This is definitely my kind to recipe, simple and buttery! and crispy.. i love crispy..thank you.. c

  8. Unhealthy, but clearly ridiculously fantastic. I love your method.

  9. Conor Bofin says:

    I have eaten a big, healthy meal f salmon, spinach and potato. Yet, I am salivating as I look at this post.
    Best,
    Conor

  10. cindy says:

    Doesn’t the butter burn?

  11. Oh those sound wonderful and I’m normally a fried and Frank’s guy. Love this as an alternative.

  12. cindy says:

    I just made these and they are pretty good. I was afraid the butter would burn so I added some olive oil to the melted butter on the cookie sheet. Also, I like a little more spice so I added some cayenne pepper to flour. I think I will add some Frank’s to the leftover melted butter and coat a few with that.
    Thanks for the recipe.

    • Hi Cindy. As you can see from the photo, the butter didn’t burn. I melt the butter until hot in the oven in a ceramic or glass baking pan, then add the chicken. Could it be that it depends on the butter one uses? It’s actually the milk solids that burn. Anyway, it seems as if you’ve worked it out. What is Frank’s?

  13. Chad says:

    This is my go-to baked chicken wings recipe. Make it about every couple of weeks! http://www.koreanamericanmommy.com/2010/08/asian-baked-crispy-chicken-wings.html

  14. whisker518 says:

    Franks is hot sauce…mostly used for buffalo chicken wings

  15. You had me on the word “buttery”. I have a bag of chicken wings from the last batch of our cockerels, so I think I´ll give this a go!

  16. rsmacaalay says:

    That looks so finger licking good! I think the non tossed one would be already good enough for me. Yummy!

Leave a Reply

