Herbed Magret de Canard Salad with Pears and Roquefort Dressing

I guess it’s day 6 of Vide Congelateur (empty the the freezer), but it feels like day 20!  It’s not that there are not good things to be made from the freezer, it’s just that cooking strictly from what I’ve got on hand, limits my spontaneity.  Whine.  Good idea! Champagne!

I don’t remember where my husband bought this bowl; Kenya? Rwanda?  But I really love it.  He always brings me nice presents.  The leaping leopard is a spoon :)

My inspiration for this recipe comes from the French.  I’ve had it many times in homes, restaurants, and it’s always good.  The roquefort dressing is my own innovation because I like it so much!

Duck Breast Salad with Pears and Roquefort Dressing

1 duck breast, fat scored

Fresh herbs(thyme, tarragon, rosemary), finely chopped

Salt and pepper

Mixed salad greens

2 pears, cored and cut into 6 or 8 wedges

2 tbsp balsamic vinegar

2 tsp honey

Roquefort dressing http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/02/28/crispy-veal-sweetbreads-with-roquefort-dressing/

Season the duck breast with the herbs, salt and pepper, then sear in a cast iron skillet, fat side down, for 5-6 minutes.  Turn and cook for an addition 2-3 minutes.  Set aside to rest.

Mix the vinegar and honey together.  Place the salad greens, pears and slices of the duck breast in plates, then drizzle with the honey-vinegar mixture.  Pass the roquefort dressing separately.

Wine suggestion:  Veuve Clicquot

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Herbed Magret de Canard Salad with Pears and Roquefort Dressing

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That looks delicious and I love the beautiful leopard bowl ;-)

  2. Spoon Feast says:

    Wonderful leopard bowl! Pears and Roquefort are a match made in heaven and with duck breast, what else do you need? (besides Veuve Clicquot)

  3. Once you’ve got your Bed and Breakfast up and running, let me know.. and I’ll book a spot!!

  4. Magret de canard has been popping up lately, perhaps because I’m going to France in six weeks. Yours looks delicious.

  5. Love salads like this, little savoury nuggets resting on the leaves, duck, pear and blue cheese, great pairing.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    Wonderful in pretty well every respect. You should empty your freezer more often.
    Best,
    Conor

  7. That looks delicious, and the Roquefort dressing seems like a great addition of yours.

  8. You always cook duck beautifully. I’ve never even cooked it. very pretty dish, Rosemary. As usual.

  9. Tessa says:

    What a beautiful salad! And I just love your leopard bowl. What a beautiful and unique piece. Have a great day!

  10. Michelle says:

    On my way to lunch at a new French restaurant in town earlier this week, I thought “Oh, I hope they have some sort of composed salad with duck.” Alas, not, but then you come up with this. Looks divine!

  11. Pingback: Pear and Grape Summer Salad « Pretzels For Lunch

  12. You always have such fun dishes, in more ways than one!

  13. Pingback: Foody Homes

  14. Joseph Erdos says:

    Hi,

    I’m putting together a slideshow of pear recipes for HuffPost Taste and would love to feature this recipe. Would you give us permission to use the photo? We’ll link back to your recipe of course.

    Thanks.

  15. Pingback: 15 Famous Quali and Duck Recipes

Leave a Reply

