Spicy, Lacquered Sea Bream

There were 3 agendas today:  1) Try out my new paella/fish frying pan  2)  Move that sea bream in the freezer onward  3)  Display the garden fresh radishes given to me by Alain.   Done!

Spicy, Lacquered Sea Bream

1 whole sea bream

Salt

Juice of 1 lime

Flour

Peanut Oil

1/4 red onion, thinly sliced

1 green chilli, sliced

2 garlic cloves, slivered

2 tbsp peanut oil

1 tbsp oyster sauce

1 tbsp soy sauce

1/4 cup sweet chilli sauce

1/4 cup chicken broth

Radishes

Chilli slices

Lime slices

Cut 4 diagonal slices on each side of the sea bream and rub with the salt and lime juice.  Allow to rest for 15 minutes, then dust with flour.

Fry the onion, chilli and garlic in the 2 tbsp of peanut oil until the onion is soft.  Add the oyster sauce, soy sauce, sweet chilli sauce and chicken broth.  Simmer for 2 minutes, remove from flame and keep warm.

Deep fry the sea bream in the peanut oil until crisp and golden.  Remove, drain, cover with the warm sauce and garnish with radishes, chilli and lime.

Wine suggestion:  Bourgogne Aligote

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Spicy, Lacquered Sea Bream

  1. OMG I love sea bream. There isn’t enough time to make all these…

  2. Mad Dog says:

    How weird – I was just thinking how I’d failed to reduce my full freezer by buying 3 sea bream this morning!

  3. That looks wondrous, I love whole fried fish like this and veranda is perfect for this.
    Love the warm sauce/lacquer too.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  4. Jon says:

    Over the top today! That fish is right up my alley, looks great. How did you season the black steel pan, oil bath? Not sure why it works but I have always fried some potato peelings for the first seasoning. Mad Dog above mentions a cast iron grill, got one too and they are incredible for all types of meat. Sear on top of the stove and finish in a hot oven (with some good kitchen gloves or heavy duty pot-holders because it gets really hot)..

  5. Villy says:

    I love this fish! I actually have a recipe backed up with a whole grilled bream! We’re eating it very often :)

  6. Exquisite, Rosemary. Absolutely fantastic.

  7. Karista says:

    Your recipes are always so mouthwatering and always makes me hungry. :) Beautiful Sea Bream!

  8. Thank you Karista.

  9. Spoon Feast says:

    Another winner Sens! The sauce sounds delish!

  10. Conor Bofin says:

    Lacquered. What a wonderful word. It looks fantastic. Two and a half months until I get to the Languedoc where I can buy the sea bream off the boats. I can’t wait.
    Best,
    Conor

  11. Tessa says:

    What a gorgeous fish dish! Sea bream is not a fish that I can find locally… Any other suggestions? Whole snapper? Have a great weekend!

  12. As an Asian, I wholeheartedly support cooking fish with the head and tail on! Looks amazing. I can’t wait to see what else you have tucked in the back of your freezer!

  13. Looks wonderful, but mainly I’m here to report that I brined a turkey in our refrigerator drawer and thought of you!

  14. Pingback: Catch of the Day, Black Bream, Porgy, or Sea Bream « A Letter from Pimlco

  15. This is going to be our dinner on Saturday

Leave a Reply

