Fabada My Way: Chorizo, Mouro, Grillaudes and Bean Stew

My inspiration for this recipe comes from Marcus at Country Wood Smoke http://countrywoodsmoke.wordpress.com/2012/03/08/smoked-morcilla-and-chorizo-fabada/.

I saw this recipe in March and started my search for morcilla or Spanish blood sausage immediately.  I didn’t find it but I did find a Portuguese blood sausage called chourico mouro.  In the freezer it went, along with the Portuguese chorizo and out it came today, along with some French grillaudes or rendered pork pieces.

I suppose what has increased my interest in cooking since coming to France is my finally  being able to cook with superior ingredients.  Hello!  Fresh.  Prime.

Also, the importance of handsome cooking equipment can never be underestimated.  Example:  Frugal’s creativity has soared since he got that skillet  http://frugalfeeding.wordpress.com/page/2/  :)  I understand, pretty pots encourage and energize me.

I need more Le Creuset!  And Frugal’s skillet to keep my spirits up!

In the meantime, since I’m banned from the butcher’s and the fishmonger’s, I went shopping for one of those wonderful French, oval, cast iron, fish skillets.  Mme Parret has one and she thought I could find one at the restaurant supply store here in town.  They didn’t have one but I found an oversize paella pan that I intend to use for large fish frying until I find the fish skillet.

Fabada My Way:  Chorizo, Mouro, Gillaudes and Bean Stew

1 lb lingot or cannellini beans, soaked overnight

2 bay leaves

3 garlic cloves, whole

Olive oil

1 chorizo sausage, cut into chunks

1 mouro sausage, cut into chunks

1/2 pound grillaudes or smoked ham hock, cut into chunks

3 garlic cloves, chopped

1 large onion, coarsely chopped

1 can diced tomatoes

5 or 6 sprigs of fresh thyme

1 bay leaf

1 tbsp piment d’espelette

Put the beans in a pot with the 2 bay leaves and the whole garlic.  Cover with about 2 inches of water, bring to a boil, put the lid on and simmer for 1 hour.

Brown the sausages and grillaudes in some olive oil until brown.  Remove and set aside.  Add the chopped garlic and onions to the pan and cook until the onions are soft.  Add the tomatoes, thyme, bay leaf and piment d’espelette, then cook for about 2 minutes.  Stir in the meats and simmer for 5 minutes.  Pour the meat mixture into the beans, just to blend.  Bring to a boil and simmer for 1 to 1 1/2 hours.  The beans should still have shape but be creamy inside.  Serve with country bread.

Beverage suggestion:  Beer

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Fabada My Way: Chorizo, Mouro, Grillaudes and Bean Stew

  1. Oh yumm. It is too warm here now to make this but it is going on my list for the next cool day. And I also love covered cast iron for dishes like this.

  2. Looks hearty, but not too heavy.

  3. I have pan envy now! Mind you we did my a lovely heavy black cast iron pan in France, the kind that can go on the stove top and in the oven :)

  4. The photo in the cooking pot is especially vibrant.

  5. I like making a stew in those cast iron casseroles.

  6. I learn about so many new ingredients when I visit here.. it seems so exotic and foreign from foods I find here. (except chorizo.. we have that..) xo Smidge

    • I knew about English and French blood pudding but because of Marcus, I now know about Spanish and Portuguese. The Portuguese is excellent! Spicier than French and English. I can’t wait to try the Spanish.

  7. Tessa says:

    What delicious looking sausage and beans! And, in my opinion, one can never have too much Le Creuset :).

  8. Haha! Thanks for the mention, Rosemary. It really has soared. I like being frugal on the food, but then getting nice things. I saw a wonderful, copper pot today but it was SO expensive. You’ll be glad to know that it was French. I can’t make myself spend £65 on a tiny pot… let’s hope I find one in a charity shop. Lovely dish by the way, you know I love this sort of thing.

    • Thank you Frugal ;) If I had a charity shop here (do they have these in France?) I’d be there weekly! I still remember some of my grandmother’s cookware from Louisiana.

  9. I might have to acquire such a pan – very envious.

  10. That looks wonderful Rosemary, glad you felt inspired to give it a go, and love the way you have used your available ingredients in this wonderful dish to make it your own. The mouro sausage looks great.
    Those big paella pans are wonderful, I love mine, just never get to use it as much as I’d like.
    Cheers
    Marcus

    • Thank you Marcus for the inspiration. The stew is so good and I will definitely make it again, probably during Christmas when the hungry family is around.

  11. I do love blood sausage. This dish looks so good with the combination of different sausages, ham hocks, and white beans. Yummy!

    And oval Le Creuset casserole is a beautiful color! I’ve never seen that light, but now I really want a whole set like that! Is it blue?

  12. Mad Dog says:

    Your freezer has good taste!

    From experience I’d say that the chourico mouro is a chorizo made with blood as opposed to a traditional morcilla. I’d recommend a morcilla de Burgos (or a good French boudin noir) for this kind of recipe, it will fall apart and thicken the sauce and impart flavour throughout, though I’m not knocking your recipe, I’m sure it tastes fantastic and I wouldn’t turn down a bowl full ;-)

    P.S. do check out other brands of cast iron cookware – most is of similar quality to Le Creuset with a lower price. Le Creuset have bought up some of the other brands like Cousances, to keep the price high.

    • Thanks for the advice Mad Dog. I love French boudin noir but I also liked the different flavor and texture of the chourico mouro for this stew; I liked the fact that it kept it’s shape. But I will certainly try to get my hands on the Spanish morcilla one day. My neighbor, M. “I will enjoy nothing that isn’t French” Parret, loved the stew and particularly mentioned the boudin, shocked that it was from Portugal :)

      I will check out other brands of cast iron as soon as I get to Paris. We’re pretty limited here in the provinces.

  13. Wow. Just wow. I’m hungry now!

  14. Karista says:

    Love your Fabada! It’s one of my favorite stews. And oh how I love your paella pan! I make paella often but I’m not crazy about my pan. Now I’m going to have to go looking for a new pan. Haha! You’ve given me the Le Creuset and Paella pan wants. And I want Frugals pan too.

  15. rsmacaalay says:

    I love fabada and I am missing it, I cant make it here as I cant see any blood sausages in the supermarket. Looks like I will have to find hard soon as I am so drooling over this dish of yours

  16. Sounds delicious.

    You are welcome to join in my monthly food blogger event THE SOUP KITCHEN, here offering a new theme each month. All bloggers are welcome, hope to see you participate soon.

  17. Pingback: Cebu’s Chorizo Dance | Love 2 Type

  18. Pingback: Cebu’s Chorizo | Love 2 Type

Leave a Reply

