Smoked and Spicy Travers du Porc with Coleslaw

I cleaned out the refrigerators yesterday and had to admit that I was in freezer trouble again.  Whenever I say freezer trouble, I think about one of this family’s favorite books, “Grandmaster” http://www.amazon.com/Grandmaster-Penzler-Presents-Warren-Murphy/dp/0765311631/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1335769343&sr=8-2.  It is a novel about a chess player/spy, raised by Tibetan monks, who possesses extraordinary powers and abilities.  Supernatural :)  Anyway, as a tournament chess player he talks about getting into “time trouble”.  While I don’t play chess and have lots of time, I do seem to get into “freezer trouble”.  Be prepared to be bored for the next week or two with the contents of my freezers.  I’m banned from the fishmonger and butcher until I see the bottom of the shelves.  Oh ko!

This is the famous travers du porc cut that the French call ribs.  I’ve cut it into thirds and you can see that over one third of this long, narrow “slab” is boneless, fat layered meat.  In fact, when I took the picture, it occurred to me that this meat might be a portion of what Chica Anduluza calls carbonnade http://chicaandaluza.wordpress.com/2012/04/18/secreto-iberico-let-me-tell-you-a-little-secret/.  Let me know what you think Chica.

I used my stove top smoker for the travers du porc to see what would happen, and decided to go the Jamie route and fly in the face of convention with a coleslaw of cabbage, carrots, fennel and radish with yogurt.

The slaw was different but tasty!

My sous chef didn’t like working on this fish-less day.

I still gave her bites :)  She thought that the ribs were fabulous!   Not fish, but doable.

Smoked and Spicy Travers du Porc with Coleslaw

1 travers du porc, cut into thirds or two slabs baby backs

2 tbsp brown sugar

2 tbsp Emeril’s essence http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/emeril-lagasse/emerils-essence-recipe/index.html

1 tsp salt

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp paprika

1 tsp black pepper

1 tsp piment d’espelette

Barbecue sauce

2 carrots, shredded

1 small bulb fresh fennel, shredded

1/2 head cabbage, shredded

1/2 red onion, thinly sliced

1 tbsp parsley, chopped

1 tbsp mint, chopped

Juice of 1/2 lemon

1/2 cup yogurt

1 tbsp mustard

Salt and pepper

Mix the brown sugar, essence, salt, cumin, pepper and piment together, then rub on the pork.  Refrigerate overnight or for however much time you have; 4 hours minimum.

Mix the carrot, fennel, cabbage, onion, parsley, mint, lemon juice, yogurt, mustard, salt and pepper together until well blended.  Refrigerate until ready to serve.

Smoke the pork in a stove top smoker with hickory chips, on medium flame for 45 minutes to 1 hour.  Or smoke your usual way.  Remove from the smoker, brush with barbecue sauce and crisp on a grill or in a 450 F oven for about 15 – 20 minutes.  Slice and serve with the coleslaw.

Wine suggestion:  Hautes Cotes de Beaune

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Smoked and Spicy Travers du Porc with Coleslaw

  1. Mad Dog says:

    Excellent and I should take a leaf out of your book with my freezer!
    Great looking sous chef ;-)

  2. I finally did the same.. and now my freezer looks so bare and lonely! Love your Travers du Porc.. we call them ribs here as well:)

  3. Tessa says:

    Your baby backs look wonderful! And I really like the radishes. My husband thought that I was the only person who had freezer troubles. He just said to me, “There’s more of you?”. I’m thinking that somewhere there is a “support group” for that :).

  4. Love both the plate/bowl and the dish on/in it. Also, adore the cat – ginger cats are the best. Cute, Rosemary, cute.

  5. Jon says:

    Beautiful slab of meat.

  6. I was glad to see this slaw: I have just about everything for it in my fridge, which could use some attention…

  7. I think you may be right about the cut of meat! Isn´t it funny how it´s different everywhere. Love what you did with it and the coleslaw is amazing. I too have the same freezer issues (I tend to stock it up as daily or even weekly shopping is not feasible) and we need ot make space for our next batch of cockerels…;) PS. Such a cute kitty!

  8. Your pictures are moving up a gear – nice work.

  9. So beautiful. My dad’s from Tennessee, so I love a good rack of ribs sans sauce!

    Good for you for cleaning out your freezer. I have to do that. But I seem to have accumulated all of these cuts of meat that need either a long, slow braise or a long, slow stew. Hopefully, I can get through it all before it starts to get really warm outside!

    In any case, I am looking forward to seeing the magic you make with yours!

    • Thank you Daisy. We’re of the Texas school of cooking the sauce into the ribs instead of just pouring it on or serving to the side.

      I’ve got some of those meats! But I’m going to be serious this time. Empty shelves.

  10. Michelle says:

    Beautiful—especially the cat!

  11. All your ingredients look insanely good and as usual come together perfectly.

  12. Little chef is so sweet! I love that you cheat with your pet too! This recipe sounds great!

  13. Pingback: Cauliflower and Sweet Potato Gratin | Cooking in Sens

  14. rsmacaalay says:

    Ohhhhh look at those ribs, this is one of my guilty pleasures, licking then until they dry out. Love this

  15. katyarich says:

    Just say that your ribs looks delicious, my husband loved this recipe, I’ll try it for sure, :)

  16. ceciliag says:

    What a completely gorgeous pic of your cat! Watching like they do. What an excellent idea to work your way through the freezer, i bet you find some surprises.. The Old Codger loves ribs so maybe I should make these for him and take them to the old folks home, he could eat them cold?.. c

    • Thank you c. Yes, after the ribs are cooked and sauced, just refrigerate them and bring them to room temperature before you go to the old folks home :)
      I can’t wait to see what’s in the “no name” zip locks :0

  17. Chez Us says:

    There is nothing like a big plate of smoky ribs and slaw to scream summer. I am anxious to fire up our grill, has been a long winter. Cannot wait to try your twist on a traditional slaw. Love the fennel.

    I stumbled on your site via Taste Fix – cannot wait to check out more of your recipes.

Leave a Reply

