Fish Tournedos with Spring Vegetables

Still doing this month’s issue of Saveur, I decided to attempt a fiddly recipe of fish tournedos with spring vegetables.  If you can’t be bothered, I understand, just look at the pictures and imagine the taste :)

I used a hake filet I had but I would recommend a thicker cod fillet.  Still, it was luscious!

If you really can’t be bothered, at least make the vegetables.  I made extra, for snacks.

Or what the heck!

 

Fish Tournedos with Spring Vegetables

1 1/2 lb hake filet

Salt and pepper

Fresh savory or tarragon

12-14 slices of smoked bacon

1 tbsp olive oil

2 tbsp butter

12 asparagus, steamed

1 cup snow peas, cut in half and steamed

12 mushrooms, quartered

A squeeze of lemon

1 tbsp butter

4 spring onions, quartered

1 cup baby spinach

Season the fish filet with salt and pepper, top with a few tarragon leaves, then wrap in the bacon slices.  Tie with kitchen string and set aside.

Squeeze the lemon over the mushrooms and then saute them in the butter for about 1 minute.  Add the onions and continue to saute for 2 minutes.  Add the asparagus, snowpeas and spinach and saute for an addition minute, cover, set aside and keep warm.

Heat the olive oil in a saute pan, add the bacon wrapped fish and brown for about 5 minutes.  Add the 2 tbsp of butter, continuing to cook for another 5 minutes, basting with the butter.  Allow to rest for 5 minutes before slicing.  Serve with the vegetables.

Wine suggestion:  Bourgogne Aligote

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Fish Tournedos with Spring Vegetables

  1. Mad Dog says:

    That looks like a nice piece of hake and good recipe! I’ve oven cooked monkfish in a similar way, with the addition of cherry tomatoes in the oven dish.

  2. That is so pretty, Rosemary. You tie meat a lot better than I – I’m merely a novice meat handler though.

  3. Spoon Feast says:

    Lovely dish Sens. The bacon is so meaty and the new silver photographs great! (Love that knife.)

  4. ceciliag says:

    WOW, that looks just gorgeous, especially wrapped ready for the cooking.. c

  5. Wow, I’m of course impressed too at how neatly you did that.

  6. I can’t wait to make this! It looks gorgeous and tasty.

  7. That’s a very good recipe and my guess is that many of your readers will do it. It would work very well wrapped in thin prosciutto or serrano as a change from the bacon.

  8. Karista says:

    Another mouthwatering recipe. And so beautiful!

  9. Conor Bofin says:

    I did something similar using monkfish and serrano ham. I like the thought of using the herbs inside the parcel. I had sweet peppers to hand so it was cooked on abed of those. I have been wondering about a story angle for the dish for over a week. Nothing comes to mind just yet…

  10. Tessa says:

    Wow! This looks wonderful! I like the fresh tarragon with the fish. And, the bacon is so neatly wrapped. Delish!

  11. Wow! You know I can’t resist anything with bacon, but this in particular is blowing my socks off!

    Such a beautiful job wrapping up the fish and tying it up. Looks perfect. No, it IS perfect! And I bet it tasted absolutely divine with the spring vegetables. This is really, really gorgeous!

  12. This is such a pretty presentation, Rosemary! I will definitely try this, it would look so special serving it this way to guests! Pretty food styling in your photos as well! And a veggie dish as well..it’s just perfect!

  13. That is a very beautiful looking dish – have only ever done this with meat but I enjoy a dish which requires a bit of effort so would definitely enjoy making this!

  14. rsmacaalay says:

    Look at all those flavours! That must have tasted so good

  15. I’ve eaten this fish dish in a restaurant and oh it was good, so for now I’ll oggle your fabulous photos

Leave a Reply

