Foie de Veau with Canada Apples, Bacon and Onions

As I’m sure I’ve mentioned before, I have no idea what a “cooking apple” is, except for maybe Granny Smiths.  I don’t feel bad about this but I decided to vaguely inform myself by asking at the market fruit stand.  The owner was kind enough to point out several different cooking apples, describing their properties at length until my eyes glazed over and I changed the subject.  Thank God Jade was with me because when I wanted to buy apples today for the balsamic glazed calf’s liver, again, I hadn’t a clue. Fortunately, Jade assured me that the apples labeled “Canada” in the supermarket were among the apples mentioned by the stand owner.

It’s funny but they describe these apples as gray, but to me they look tarnished brown and slightly past their prime, but when I prodded them, they were firm.  They were very good with the melt in your mouth liver!

Foie de Veau with Canada Apples, Onions and Bacon

2 slices of calf’s liver

Salt and pepper

Flour

1/2 cup bacon bayonets

4 tbsp butter

2 small onions, quartered

2 apples, cored and cut into 8ths

1/4 cup balsamic vinegar

1/4 cup white wine

2 tbsp parsley, chopped

Season the liver with salt and pepper, dust with flour and set aside.

Brown the bacon in a saute pan until just crisp, remove and drain on a paper towel.  Reserve.

In the bacon pan, melt 2 tbsp of the butter and saute the onions for about 2 minutes.  Add the apples and cook until slightly brown.

Pour in the vinegar and wine and boil for 3 minutes, remove from flame, set aside and keep warm.

In a clean saute pan, melt the butter and cook the liver 2-3 minutes per side.  Place on a serving plate with the apples and onions and sprinkle with the bacon and parsley.

Wine suggestion:  Hautes-Cote de Beaune

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

37 Responses to Foie de Veau with Canada Apples, Bacon and Onions

  1. Great pictures!! I guess the definition of cooking apple depends on where the receipe book is written, in Britain a cooking apple would be a Bramley, which turns into wonderful fluffy mush on cooking. France and Germany have no equivalent, and Bramley trees don’t do well in the climate in Languedoc. I love Canada and Chantecler appples for cooking.

  2. I loved liver growing up.. my mom also prepared it with bacon:) I think it’s pretty cool that you have “Canada” apples all the way over there!

  3. I think cooking apples, the English version of which is quite sour, are not an ideal match for foie de veau. I don’t know the Canada apple but it looks a bit like a Clochard. In the end you want some sweetness from the apple to work with the liver. Your solution looks pretty perfect.

  4. The quintessential “cooking apple” is the bramley apple – they aren’t too sweet and hold their shape during a long cooking process. This looks really lovely, Rosemary.

  5. chefconnie says:

    I usually have to ask at Whole Foods because there are so many apples in the market these days. I love it. I usually use granny smith but I will try a Bramley. Cheers!

  6. Karista says:

    Your food is just beautiful! Makes me hungry every time I read your posts. :) happy weekend!

  7. Foie de veau is one of my favorites. This looks so good. Making me hungry!

  8. I really need to eat at your house. I am happy to bring the wine :-)

  9. Spoon Feast says:

    I don’t eat liver very often and never thought of apples with it. I have only cooked it with onions. I will have to try it. I used to like liver a lot!

  10. Tessa says:

    Liver and apples sounds delicious! I’ve never seen that variety of apple that you used in your dish before. If I see them, I will be sure to try them!

  11. I must try your recipe. I haven’t cooked liver for ages, but must do it again soon. The apples sound like a great flavor addition!

  12. ceciliag says:

    i am a huge fan of liver, I have never made it with apples and when I think about it , it sounds like a perfect complement to the irony liver, not that the liver is ironic you understand!! c

  13. rsmacaalay says:

    I love liver and this would be a keeper as I dont know a lot of liver recipes

  14. Mad Dog says:

    I had a big plate of calves liver a couple of days ago. I’m currently in Barcelona and discovered that they sell it in the market for 3.50 € – it’s considerably more expensive in London.
    Your recipe sounds delicious ;-)

  15. I cook with any old apple too. I mean not that these are any old apples! The whole dish looks great.

Leave a Reply

