Lumpiang Hubad

Well Jade’s back from her class trip to London and I’m back to blogging.  I really didn’t feel like food blogging meals for one, so I took the opportunity to find my voice for the cookbook I’m writing.  Mission accomplished!

R.S. Macalaay’s  blog featuring Filipino food and other scrumptious dishes has become a big favorite of mine.  When I saw his “spring rolls without wrappers” plate http://angsarap.net/2012/04/17/lumpiang-hubad/, I knew I had to make it.  Crisp vegetables with ground pork and shrimp sounded like a winner to me and Jade’s trip left her with a serious craving for vegetables.

I added some ginger, celery, used a different peanut sauce and changed some quantities, so for authenticity, go to the blog site.  Thank you for the inspiration R.S.!

Lumpiang Hubad

1/2 lb ground pork

2 tbsp peanut oil

2 large garlic cloves, slivered

3 slices of fresh ginger, slivered

2 branches celery, thinly sliced

1 sweet potato, thinly sliced

1/4 head cabbage, shredded

1 cup green beans, thinly sliced

1lb shrimp, shelled and cleaned

1/2 cup chicken broth

Hoisin peanut butter sauce  http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/11/06/deep-fried-quail-with-hoisin-dipping-sauce/

Chopped peanuts

Asian noodles, cooked

Cook the pork in the oil until lightly browned.  Add the garlic, ginger and celery, stir frying for 1 minute.  Add the sweet potato and stir fry for 1 minute.  Add the cabbage and green beans and stir fry for 1 minute.  Add the shrimp and stir fry for 1-2 minutes.  Add the broth, bring to a boil and simmer for 1 minute.

Serve with the peanut butter sauce, chopped peanuts and noodles.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Asian, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, Vegetables and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Lumpiang Hubad

  1. Charlene Velas says:

    Our famous lumpia! We have several versions of that recipe too!

  2. Tessa says:

    Looks wonderful!

  3. Charlene Velas says:

    That’s good to hear! Visit the Philippines soon! =)

  4. Looks so good and healthy :-)

    Also, when I lived in the UK, I got such a kick out of the classes of children on trips. It is one of the great things about being in Europe — so many countries/cultures to explore. And, wisely, they start the children early.

  5. Hope the book’s coming on well, and say hello to Jade from Jenny and me.

  6. Fantastic – I didn’t know you were writing a cookbook! Ill be the first to buy a copy! This sounds and looks great! Interesting name, though, it sounds like an illness :D – no offence of course. I’ve missed your food, Rosemary.

  7. Very nice pictures and ingredients mix.

  8. beti says:

    that peanut butter sauce sounds wonderful, I can imagine how good this tastes

  9. Conor Bofin says:

    I can only echo the comments above and add a (yet another) positive comment on the styling and photography. Lovely,
    Conor

  10. rsmacaalay says:

    Very nice version, I love the use of noodles in this dish!

  11. I didn’t know you were writing a book.. fantastic! I think this is such a healthier version.. more of the good veggie “inside” bits!!

  12. Karista says:

    Fantastic recipe! My family would love this.

  13. Carly says:

    Reblogged this on Travelling On and commented:
    Delicious!

  14. I love his blog too and need to try some of his recipes. First to a good market….

  15. katskusina says:

    I was so giddy when I saw your post “Lumpiang Hubad” I was browsing for a different recipe and there it presented itself, I can hear it calling my attention, “look at me, read me..” I’m glad I found your blog.

    Love,
    Kat

  16. AvocadoPesto says:

    This sounds like such an interesting and delicious combination of flavors! Must try this soon!

Leave a Reply

