Honey Mustard Roasted Duck Legs with Pears

I saw one of my older posts on another site, maybe pinterest?  Anyway, it was honey mustard chicken with sweet potatoes http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/10/04/honey-mustard-chicken-and-sweet-potatoes/ and I thought it was high time for some honey mustard something!  I didn’t have chicken or sweet potatoes, but I did have some enormous duck legs and pretty little pears.

Honey Mustard Roasted Duck Legs with Pears

2 shallots, finely chopped

1/4 cup melted butter

1/4 honey

1/4 cup mustard

4 duck legs

3 small onions, quartered

2 tbsp butter, melted

6 small pears, quartered

Lemon juice

Sprigs of thyme

Mix the shallots, butter, honey and mustard together.  Loosen the skin on the duck legs to create a pocket and rub some of the mixture inside the pocket and all over the legs.  Place the duck on a rack, skin side down, in a baking pan and allow to rest for 30 minutes.  Reserve the rest of the honey mustard mixture for basting.

Toss the onions with the 2 tbsp of butter and place in a separate baking pan.  Toss the pears with the lemon juice and set aside.

Place the duck legs in a 400 F oven for 30 minutes.  Remove, turn and baste with the reserved mixture, then return to the oven, along with the onions for 30 minutes.  Remove the onions and duck.  Baste the duck, add the pears and thyme sprigs to the onions and return both to the oven for 15 minutes.

Wine suggestion:  Fleurie

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Honey Mustard Roasted Duck Legs with Pears

  1. A fantastic combination pairing the duck with the pear, and I bet the mustard just lifted the dish way up.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  2. We never have duck here in KY at the regular grocery. I’d love to try your duck recipes. I wonder if chicken would be a decent substitute?

    • Hi Anna. This recipe should work with chicken as long as it’s not a Perdue type chicken (too soft or something), maybe a large free range. You would also want to decrease the cooking time to 45 – 55 minutes.

  3. I love honey mustard in about anything. This is fantastic.

  4. Awesome, Rosemary. That looks delicious. It’s funny; I was looking at packets of duck legs this morning. They’re not actually that expensive. Perhaps It’s time I came up with a frugal way to prepare duck!

  5. If I find some duck.. I’ll be trying this recipe, it would be my first duck ever:)

  6. Beautiful photo and recipe. I would love to see you include the wine in your posts and photos :-)

  7. Michelle says:

    The duck and pears looks wonderful! I love, love, love duck legs. Also really like your tablecloth.

  8. Savory pears! I love it! They reminded me of a stuffing I do around the holidays that has pears, thyme, and sourdough. It’s good to remember that fruits are great with meat too!

    Beautiful color on that duck leg!

  9. chefconnie says:

    I never tire of the honey/mustard combo. It is always yummy.

  10. Tessa says:

    I love duck! It’s not that easy of an ingredient to get where I live unless you are a hunter or raise your own. I never thought of using honey mustard on duck before. Sounds delicious!

  11. Tessa says:

    Ya, the wild duck can be really dry. Not to mention that the “shot” can be an issue… I’ve learned that with wild duck it’s all about cooking low and slow.

  12. rsmacaalay says:

    Wow that duck looks perfectly cooked

  13. Pear has some great advantage for women health. Very nice combination.

  14. katyarich says:

    wow….just love duck legs, here is confit de pato, I’d tried lots different ones but with pears is my favourite!!!!!!!

  15. Marianne says:

    I must try this recipe, duck with pears. That will be a first one for me, and I love duck, :)

  16. Pingback: Naturally Gluten Free Roundup #4 – April

Leave a Reply

