The Perfect Fish Cake with Homemade Tartar Sauce

For my entire cooking and eating life I have been searching for the perfect fish cake.  True, I have found them from time to time in certain restaurants, but I have never succeeded in making them at home to please myself, until today.

I detest fish cakes that are so filled with bindings (flour, crackers, potatoes) that you are left with an inflated stomach and just the faintest taste of fish.  Bleah!  I admit, I’ve been guilty of making these dough balls, but I didn’t like it.  Today, after all these years, I produced the perfect fish cake.  If you don’t believe me, make the recipe.  After cooking and tasting one of the first batch, I quickly wrote down exactly what I did, otherwise, back to the drawing board :(

And really, if you are going to make the perfect fish cake, put that jar away and make homemade tartar sauce.  It’s quick and easy.

Perfect Fish Cakes 

1/2 cup cornichons, finely chopped

2 spring onions, finely chopped

5 drops Sriracha sauce

1 tsp lemon juice

1 tbsp Dijon mustard

1 cup mayonnaise

Salt and pepper to taste

2 lbs fresh cod

1 lb potatoes, boiled and mashed

1 spring onion, chopped

2 tbsp fresh parsley, chopped

1 tbsp flour plus extra for dusting

1 egg, beaten

Salt

Peanut oil

To make the tartar sauce, mix together the cornichons, onions, Sriracha, lemon juice, mustard, mayonnaise, salt and pepper, then refrigerate.

Steam the cod for about 10 minutes until it flakes, then mix with the potatoes, onion, parsley, flour, egg and salt.  Form into cakes, dust with flour and refrigerate for 30 minutes.

Fry the fish cakes in the peanut oil until brown and crusty.  Serve with the tartar sauce.

Wine suggestion:  Petit Chablis

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

59 Responses to The Perfect Fish Cake with Homemade Tartar Sauce

  1. I would eat this for breakfast, lunch, and dinner

  2. drooling! no question it’s on my to-do list

    …and yes please and thank you to the chablis ~

  3. Mad Dog says:

    They look and sound delicious – especially the inclusion of sriracha ;-)

  4. chefconnie says:

    Yummy. Love the little kick.

  5. Jon says:

    I’ll be trying this one! Great shots.

  6. The perfect fishcake? Congratulations :D. They do look awfully good, Rosemary.

  7. ceciliag says:

    This is a lovely idea for a lunch! nice and simple, I desperately need a good tartare sauce recipe too.. c

  8. These look delicious! Guess what I’m making for dinner tonight? I’m off to pick up the cod right now.

  9. Good for you! I feel the same way too and hate being left wondering where was the fish in the fishcake. It sounds like you got the proportions down perfectly. I also think the touch of sriracha is brilliant. As it letting the cakes rest in the fridge before pan-frying. Good tips to remember! Thank you!

    PS. Have you tried the same proportions with crab or shrimp?

  10. Yumm. I agree about the tarter sauce…

  11. Karen says:

    The fish cakes sound terrific. Would you say the portion of two to one is the way to go if downsizing the recipe.

  12. Tessa says:

    These are beautiful fish cakes. I have never used potato in mine before, I will be trying that techinique!

  13. I love this!! I agree, this sounds like the perfect combination.. right down to the sauce and the chablis!!

  14. Nice recipe, but is the crazy sauce with a demented Scrabble name?

  15. bigFATcook says:

    The fish cakes look delicious! At thirst I thought these were potatoe cakes.. they look so alike :)
    Greets

  16. Villy says:

    Yum! I love this type of food! And tartar sauce is one of my favorites!

  17. I love when something I’ve not quite gotten before comes together. These do look perfect.

  18. Karista says:

    I too detest those flour and bread laden fish cakes. These look so delicious and great for a lunch, dinner or starters! Love the dash of Sriracha!

  19. Nicely done. It erminds me of similar pettie that my mom used to make with vegetables. Very nice and healthy ingredients too.

  20. Peiqi says:

    Reblogged this on Bitter Heart.

  21. rsmacaalay says:

    What a coincidence I made a salmon version last Friday. Your recipe looks good

  22. Pingback: recipes march 24 | Pearltrees

  23. Ive just discovered your blog, and this looks fantastic! The small amount of flour is a major bonus for my family, as we are gluten intolerant, but that small amount can easily be replaced with rice flour or even potato starch. Excellent!

  24. Pingback: fish cakes « fried sig

  25. Su says:

    Hi. My husband is a meat lover so when I told him I’m going to make this for dinner he was so disappointed :P But we had agreed to eat more healthy so he tried them and after he finished his 2 fish cakes he asked me to make more for next week :) Perfect!

  26. whitney says:

    Approximately how many fish cakes/ how many servings does this recipe make?

  27. katyarich says:

    I also love fish cakes and this recipe looks very delicious, I have to look for the sriracha sauce, I’ve never used it :)

  28. Pingback: Juicy, Deep Fried Gillardeau Oysters | Cooking in Sens

  29. Pingback: Roasted Parsnips, Mushrooms, Romano Beans and Crispy Fried Fish | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

