Oven Barbecued Chicken with Cauliflower Gratin

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m waiting for my husband to come home to “Spring-ize” my grills.  Word has it that it might be next month.  Until then it’s oven, stove top smoking or broiler.   A girl has got to have some standards!  My stove care person is counting the days :)

The recipe for the cauliflower gratin is inspired by Rachel Khoo; she has a very appetizing picture in her book.  But I looked at her recipe and thought it was a bit, unnecessarily, fussy and since I know how to make a gratin, I just did it my way with a Rachel spin.  I made one medium sized baking pan, plus two individuals for the Parrets.

After seeing the cauliflower in the market, I started to understand, a little, M. Parret’s “If it’s not the season, NON!”   The cauliflower heads are huge and snowy with crunchy tender stems that are just crying out to be dipped in something and eaten raw.  When compared to the spotty, blotchy, shriveled, dessicated heads available out of season, I feel obliged to agree with M. Parret.  About cauliflower.

Oven Barbecued Chicken and Cauliflower Gratin

1 inch fresh ginger, chopped

2 garlic cloves, chopped

1/4 cup rice vinegar

1 tbsp soy sauce

Juice 1/2 lemon

1 tbsp honey

1 tbsp peanut oil

1 tbsp sesame oil

2 chicken legs(thigh and drumstick)

1 head cauliflower, separated into florets

2 spring onions, finely chopped

2 tbsp butter

2 tbsp flour

2 cups milk

1 clove

1 bay leaf

2 cups grated Comte cheese

Hazelnuts, ground

Mix the ginger, garlic, rice vinegar, soy sauce, lemon, honey and oils together.  Pour over the chicken in a zip lock bag and squish around.  Marinate for a least two hours.

Steam the cauliflower florets for 15 minutes, rinse with cold water and drain.  Set aside.

Cook the onions in the butter until soft.  Add the flour and blend well, cooking for about 2 minutes.  Gradually whisk in the milk.  Add the clove and bay leaf, then simmer, frequently whisking, for 10 minutes.  Remove from the flame, take out the bay leaf and clove, then add 1 cup of cheese, whisking to combine.  Pour on top of the cauliflower and mix well.  Place the cauliflower in a baking pan(s), top with more cheese and the ground hazelnuts.

Remove the chicken from the bag, place in a pan with a rack and reserve the marinade.  Roast the chicken in a 400 F oven for 25 minutes, skin side down.  Remove, turn and baste with the reserved marinade.    Put both the chicken and the cauliflower  in the oven, reducing the temperature to 350 F for 20 minutes (large cauliflower pan and chicken) or 10 minutes(individual cauliflower ramekins).   Remove the chicken and keep warm.  Broil the cauliflower to brown for 5 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes, side dish and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Oven Barbecued Chicken with Cauliflower Gratin

  1. I’ve not tried a cauliflower gratin.. this looks so warmly delicious.. My mom used to pour a sauce over, but I like the sounds of this one!! Thanks for posting! xoxo

  2. I love this cauliflower. In England they call it “cauliflower cheese” – such a cute name. I think the only difference is that they add some Colemans mustard to the sauce.

  3. chefconnie says:

    Love gratin. That chicken is beautiful.

  4. I bought a huge cauliflower in the market this morning, so that gratin looks like a great idea!

  5. Mad Dog says:

    That looks excellent ;-)
    I did see one episode of the Rachel Khoo show and she most definitely can not cook! It does make me suspect that someone else wrote the book.

  6. I bet this would be great with broccoli too. I say that only because 1) My wife won’t eat cauliflower and 2) She was recently debating doing a broccoli gratin. This looks perfect to me!

  7. Cauliflower is a much maligned vegetable, it seems, but we love it around here, especially in a gratin or raosted with Parmesan cheese. I is a perfect side to just about any meal you can think of. Love your recipe for the gratin, and as for BBQ chicken, oven or grilled, it’s always welcome at on the table!

  8. m&m says:

    Looks delicious! I’m craving chicken today for some reason.

  9. carolbean says:

    Made this whole meal last night…realized I didn’t have a rack at the last minute but it still turned out beautifully. And the two dishes paired together are just deeeeelicious. Thanks for dinner! :)

  10. Wine Fan says:

    Cauliflower is one of my go to vegetables. I’ll eat them raw, sauteed, roasted, etc…you name it, I’ll eat it! I’ve never tried cauliflower gratin though, and I must say, they look scrumptious. I can only imagine how great that meal was with the mouth watering barbeque chicken. Good job!

  11. I love all items with cauliflower.

  12. Love cauliflower, and am always looking for new ways to prepare it. Thanks!

  13. grainnep says:

    This looks really lovely. Thanks for posting.

  14. This looks divine, I’m having this for supper next week!

  15. kat says:

    Looks beautiful! And what a great easy dinner for the week! :)

  16. Pingback: Bourbon-Mustard Chicken with Chives « Eating Sweet

  17. Sarah says:

    I made this last night. It was a big hit! Thank you!

  18. Pingback: Oven barbecued chicken with cauliflower gratin - Cherry on my Sundae

Leave a Reply

