Tournedos with Roquefort Sauce

Before I get to the tournedos, I know Roger will want to know what I did for Easter :)  Well, I had a few friends over for a rolled and stuffed lamb roast and to assist me in breaking my Lenten fast from wine.  We had Champagne, of course, a Petit Chablis and a Brouilly.  Naturally, when I’m having fun, pictures are scarce.  I did get a picture of the garlic confit for the stuffing that was excellent and that provided a fantastic aromatic olive oil.

And also a picture of my not very professionally rolled roast.  The meat rolling men were absent.

After that, it was just, whatever.

But we did have a good time!  Next time we need a dedicated photographer :)  The menu was:

Beet tiramisu

Stuffed and rolled lamb roast

Garlic oven roasted potatoes

Mushy peas

Roquefort and mache

Strawberry panna cotta

Tournedos with Roquefort Sauce

6 tournedos

Salt and pepper

Olive oil

3 shallots, chopped

2 tbsp butter

1/2 cup white wine

1 cup creme fraiche

White pepper

1/2 cup crumbled roquefort

Season the tournedos with salt and pepper, then brush with olive oil and set aside.

Sweat the shallots in the butter until soft.  Add the white wine and reduce the liquid to half.  Add the creme fraiche and reduce to half again.  Season with white pepper.  Set aside and keep warm.

Sear the tournedos on both sides until done.  Stir the roquefort into the warm shallot sauce and pour over the top of the tournedos.  Serve with sauteed mushrooms and a little salad.

Wine suggestion:  Regnie

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Tournedos with Roquefort Sauce

  1. That just looks an amazing Easter. You certainly showed Lent the door – it went out tarred, feathered and backwards on a steer.

  2. Yumm. I love beef with roquefort. And fabulous photos also.

    One question. I can see the roquefort in the photo but not in the recipe. Did I miss something?

  3. Mad Dog says:

    You did a great job without a dedicated photographer – what a great meal ;-)

  4. ceciliag says:

    I also love the shots of the table, with the movement of the people and the glasses and jugs and bottles crowded in like overeager guests! Wonderful images of joy! c

  5. Let’s say our prayer and have fun !!…Great job..

  6. Rachel says:

    These were popular when I was much younger and I could never quite figure out what dinner had to do with Wizard of Oz-ish windstorms… I got it now, though! ;-) Mmmm… lamb *anything* makes me happy!

  7. Everything about the meal says “celebrate”. I expect you´re glad the Lenten wine drought is over, I think the meat looked great and I loved the table shots..so full of life!

  8. I should never read your blog at lunchtime :-)

  9. Spoon Feast says:

    Your table setting shows great love for life, food and friends. Love the flowers and tornedos too.
    You are lucky to be able to have such a wide variety of protein to choose from in French markets.
    Guinea hen, rabbit, lamb all delicious posts Sens!

  10. The room will do that after a bit too much wine. Kidding, great shots and a great meal.

  11. What a complete post today.. gorgeous food, beautiful beaming smiles, a glorious bouquet of flowers and a new recipe!! Loved it!

  12. Tessa says:

    Gorgeous meal! Next time I prepare a tenderloin, I will try your roquefort sauce… That looks and sounds amazing!

  13. rsmacaalay says:

    That plate looks so rich! so yummy. I love it

  14. Nice recipe, you can find another french recipe on my blog:
    http://www.macuisineetvous.com

  15. Tournedos and roquefort is always such a wonderful combination. The plate looks fabulous.

    And what a wonderful way to end Lent with good friends and good food! Thank you for sharing your feast!

  16. Karen says:

    Love the gathering of friends and family at the table to celebrate Easter and your wonderful meal.

Leave a Reply

