Rachel Khoo’s Omelette Souffle with Basque Piperade

If you have ever questioned that old adage (which I have) “You get what you pay for”, here’s living proof that that is SO wrong!  At least some of the time.  I’m talking about my new Le Creuset skillet and Frugal’s Le “I got it in the second hand bin” skillet http://frugalfeeding.wordpress.com/2012/03/29/gujarati-curried-chicken/#more-1807.  Frugal’s skillet is made by AGA but I can’t find one like that on the site nor at the store in Paris.  They probably don’t make them anymore.  It is so elegant!  That’s not to say that Le  Creuset doesn’t make a good cast iron, stove top to oven product, it’s just that I want Frugal’s :)

Anyway, Rachel Khoo spotlights the simplicity, yet delicacy, of French cuisine with her omelette souffle and Basque piperade, in her book “Little Paris Kitchen” (no I’m not going to cook the whole book, but a lot of it).

I’ve made piperade before http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2011/07/14/bastille-day-piperade-tart/ but this is the first time I’ve included thyme.  Perfect!

Omelette Souffle with Basque Piperade

3 cloves garlic, thinly sliced

1 large onion, cut in half and thinly sliced

2 sprigs fresh thyme

2 tbsp olive oil

1 red bell pepper, sliced

1 green bell pepper, sliced

1/2 tsp piment d’espelette

2 tomatoes, cut into eighths

A pinch of sugar

Salt

4 eggs, separated

A pinch of salt

1 tbsp butter

Saute the onion, garlic and thyme in the olive oil until the onion begins to soften.  Add the peppers and piment, then continue to saute for about 3 minutes.  Add the tomatoes, sugar, salt, then cover and cook for 5-10 minutes depending on how much you want the peppers cooked.

Whisk the egg yolks for 1 minute, then set aside.  Beat the egg whites with the salt until stiff.  Fold the whites into the yolks.

Melt the butter in an oven proof skillet on top of the stove, then add the eggs and cook for about 3 minutes, then place the skillet in a preheated 350 F oven for about 4 minutes.  Remove and serve immediately with the piperade.

Wine suggestion:  Cremant

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Rachel Khoo’s Omelette Souffle with Basque Piperade

  1. Tessa says:

    Beautiful omelette souffle! Have you poked around ebay for the AGA skillet? You might find Frugal’s skillet there… triple what he paid for it :).

  2. That looks so good rosemary. Such a great light lunch, I’m definately going to try making an omlette like that, maybe with some of my smoked butter.
    Cheers
    Marcus

  3. Thank you Marcus. The smoked butter should be fantastic!

  4. Yumm. Too bad we just had breakfast. I’d be making this….

  5. I think Ebay has, well, everything! I have to resist looking there for ironstone dishes.. way too tempting!! This looks just so healthy as well as delicious, and now I know what a Piperade is:) xo Smidge

  6. This looks fantastic, Rosemary. I love piperade :D, though my most recent version was rather different. You have a beautiful skillet too, but I cherish the thought that you lust after mine.

  7. Conor Bofin says:

    Beautiful and simple. That makes beautifully simple. or is that simply beautiful. Whatever way, it looks great.
    Happy Easter,
    Conor

  8. Let’s celebrate Easter….

  9. You may have to stage a break in to Frugal´s kitchen and abscond with his skillet! Beautiful Omelette soufflé in yours though!

  10. This omelette looks amazingly light and puffy! I want to eat one right now!

    Your pan looks beautiful too, but I can sympathize with coveting Frugal’s AGA pan. I personally want to copy his collection of mixing bowls and dishes!

    I need to check out this Rachel Khoo book. It sounds like an amazing resource!

  11. I like so few recipes and food photo posts. Yours are time after time simply gorgeous. I hope you will continue this run of great and interesting posts.
    Cheers!
    Michael

  12. That is an excellent version of the souffle omelette. Mixed with a good piperade – perfect. I think I’ve got to get hold of Rachel Khoo’s book as I’ve been reading a lot about her recently.

  13. Mad Dog says:

    My Le Creuset skillet is my favourite pan of all time and I don;t think they make them anymore either. It’s excellent for tortilla Español ;-)

  14. My cast irons are my hand me downs, the ultimate frugal. This looks wonderful. I like how the eggs and veggies are kept separate, very nice looking.

  15. Pingback: Lentil Chili Stuffed Zucchini and Piperade Peppers | Cooking in Sens

  16. Pingback: Spinach, Bacon, Mushroom and Brie Omelette. | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

