Muffuletta Sandwich: The Original Manwich

I baked.  What was I thinking of?  One minute I’m chatting with fellow blogger, Kay http://myhomecookedmeals.blogspot.fr/ about the olive salad for muffuletta sandwiches and the next, I’m on my way to buy bread flour.  Mind snatched again!  This has got to be an age thing.  Back in the day, I would have just used baguettes and been glad!

I almost put paid to the Kitchenaid!  That’s why I don’t bake.  It makes me tense and this tension and anxiety caused me to plug the 110V machine into the 220V socket on my island.  I know so much better than this!  I’ve spent most of my life in 220V countries with 110V machines.  That’s why I had the kitchen people include 2 pop up electric sockets in my island; one for 110 and one for 220.  A spark and an ugly sound flew out of the socket when I plugged it in and I said the f word for my total stupidity!  Several times.  However, the thing still worked when I plugged it in the 110 socket.  God is good!  I just want to have fun.  Baking is not fun to me :(   Frugal, can you imagine if I had to buy another Kitchenaid?  I would have hated that!  As would have my husband.  The Kitchenaid was my Christmas present to him one year.  I don’t bake :)  I only use it when the recipe says “knead” or “whip”.  The machine is practically new.  Probably not anymore.  LOL.

Part of the tension comes from proofing the yeast.  Unless it’s Fleischmann’s from the good ole U.S. of A., I have very little faith in yeast, and hover anxiously over the bowl, waiting for the yeast to start bubbling.  It doesn’t mean that France doesn’t have good yeast, but the brand that I found was the same brand that used to be “iffy” in the countries I lived in.  I tend to harbor a totally unfair suspicion, because when the yeast is stored properly, as it is here, it works as well as Fleischmann’s.  I just can’t seem to shake the remembered trauma of having dead yeast in a huge bowl of dough with guests arriving too soon.  I’m still going to have my husband bring back some Fleischmann’s from the States.  I don’t care!   I laugh in the face of my absurdity.  Ha, ha, ha!  A happy Rosemary is a worry free Rosemary and that’s a good thing.

Anyway.  My bread rose beautifully!  And it wasn’t thick and bready.  Big Easy!  Yeah!  So pretty, it makes me want to make it again.  The recipe comes from NOLA Cuisine  http://www.nolacuisine.com/2005/08/21/muffuletta-bread-recipe/, my go to site for Cajun and Creole dishes.

Muffuletta Sandwich

1 cup warm water

1 tbsp active dry yeast

1 tbsp sugar

2 cups all purpose flour

1 cup bread flour

1 1/2 tsp salt

2 tbsp lard

Sesame seeds

Olive oil

1 egg

2tbsp cold water

3 different kinds of sliced cheeses, preferably Italian

3 different kinds of cold cuts, preferably Italian

Olive salad http://cookinginsens.wordpress.com/2012/04/04/central-grocery-olive-salad/

Put the yeast and sugar in the water until in starts to foam or bubble.  In the meantime, sift the flours together with the salt and then cut in the lard with a pastry cutter, two knives or your fingers.

Pour the yeast mixture into a Kitchenaid and, on low, gradually add the flour until the ingredients are well blended.  Increase the speed to knead and have a glass of iced tea.

When the the dough is smooth and elastic, form into a ball,  put into a oiled bowl, turning once to coat with oil.  Cover with a towel and put into a warm place to rise for 1 1/2 hours.

Punch the dough down, form into a flat round about 9 inches across, place on a lightly oiled baking sheet or pizza pan.  Sprinkle with the sesame seeds, cover with a towel and allow to rise for another hour.

Beat the egg and water together and brush the top of the bread with this wash.

Bake at 425 F for 10 minutes, decrease to 375 F and continue to bake for 20-25 minutes until the bread browns and sounds hollow when tapped.

Cut the bread in half lengthwise, brush both cut sides with olive oil, layer cheese and meats alternately on the bottom half, then top with the olive salad.  Put the top on and press down.  Cut into wedges and serve.

Beverage suggestion:  Iced tea or beer

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Italian, Recipes, Sandwich and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Muffuletta Sandwich: The Original Manwich

  1. carolbean says:

    i absolutely loved reading this. you sound exactly like me when i’ve narrowly escaped a serious kitchen disaster–bubbling over with relief and giggles and “did you just SEE that?! i can’t believe it DID that!!” it happens to the best of us and it’s so wonderful to see it written out. also, your blog is amazing and this sandwich in particular looks SO good. as soon as i can eat meat again i’m making it (maybe i’ll just eat a big bowl of the olive salad for now). thanks so much! :)

  2. I’m glad you attempted this.. it turned out perfect!! Wow.. you sure don’t want to destroy that KitchenAid.. it’s a beauty, I’d love to have that one!! And.. no more f bombs, lol!

  3. Tessa says:

    Outstanding! I love muffeletta sandwiches! I would not worry so much about the kitchenaid mixer. They are tanks. Before I got mine 20 years ago, I used to destroy hand mixers on an annual basis. Plugging it into the wrong electrical socket, well, that’s a different story :).

  4. Nice sandwich with that special bread…

  5. The bread looks lovely! I’m hoping to get a KitchenAide very soon…hopefully the hints I’ve been giving over the past weeks, months, years will finally sink in!

  6. alex says:

    Well done you, I’ve never had mufletta before but this looks lovely, and such pretty photos.

  7. That’s going the extra mile, making your own bread for the sandwich, particularly when you experience fear of baking. Next, you’ll be making your own cheese and salumi, making us all look like slackers.

  8. Villy says:

    I don’t think there is anything missing from this sandwich.. Perfect!

  9. What an American sandwich… blimey. I like a good doorstop sandwich and this truly is one. I want a kitchenaid, Rosemary. It’s a good thing it wasn’t bust :D.

  10. Spoon Feast says:

    Muffulattas are my favorite sandwich in the entire world and there aren’t enough good ones out there. The giardiniera is what really makes the olive salad so good. (I like to look for the ones with the most cauliflower.) Love your recipe!
    YUM! I need one of these soon!
    Great job on the bread.

    • Thank you Spoon. I actually made my own giardiniera once in either Rwanda or Senegal in order to make the olive salad.

      • Spoon Feast says:

        Your life sound so interesting Sens. I would love the opportunity to live in foreign lands again and all the “fun” and challenge that comes with it. I grew up traveling the world and miss moving to another country every 3 years or so.
        Can’t wait to see what delicious bit of French inspired cuisine you will cook up next!

  11. Frugal, I did break one of those mixers! Sorry, Rosemary, I should be commenting to you. This looks wonderful!

  12. I want to eat my monitor this looks so good.

  13. Dave says:

    Rosemary my dear,
    First, you must always try and cook what makes you the most uneasy. You must conquer all fears. It will only build to your legend. It will even help your posture. All of us Americans have bad posture!
    Second, I am certain you are very well liked and admired, sometimes even gazed upon with a sense of bewilderment in Sens. It should be no problem for you to coerce a baker to release some of his yeast starter to you.
    Referring back to “First”, take a pound of local grapes, wrap and secure in a cheesecloth. Mix together 2c flour and 2c water. Submerge your cheesecloth into the flour mixture and burst all the grapes with your hands. TIGHTLY cover and set aside in your closet or under the couch like those Korean women do with their Kim Chee. Every 3-4 days add 1/2 cup flour and 1/2 c water to feed the starter. In 2 weeks your ready. No more buying suspicious yeast with it’s bad intentions.

  14. katyarich says:

    Wow , making your owne bread for sandwich, this is marvellous and I’love to have a kitchenaid like yours, so pretty, happy Easter:)

  15. Wow. A) I am in awe that you had the foresight to ask for both 110v and 220v sockets! B) I am in double awe that you had the practical foresight to make them pop-up ones! C) I am stupefied that your Kitchen Aid still works! That is incredible! They really are built like tanks, and if that isn’t an endorsement to buy one, I don’t know what is ;-)

    Your bread looks absolutely impeccable. I’m trying to get into more baking, but I think that I really lack the discipline to ever pull off a perfect cake (sifting? what’s that? recipe amounts? you mean I’m supposed to follow them?).

    When I read about you proofing yeast, it definitely made me laugh. I have had some yeast disasters too where the whole kitchen smelled like beer, yet the dough was same size as it was an hour before.

    • I don’t know Daisy about getting into baking. If you live near a good baker, which I do, I say let the professionals handle it! Baking is too fiddly for me and I will only attempt it when there is something that’s not available at the baker that I feel I really need. Otherwise, I’ll substitute or do without ;)

      The pop up sockets are so cool :) We’ll see about the Kitchen Aid; I’m whipping cream today for a strawberry panna cotta .

  16. gretzky991 says:

    Reblogged this on gretzky991 and commented:
    This is going to taste great this weekend.

  17. Pingback: Okay, I Baked | Cooking in Sens

  18. Pingback: Muffuletta in Honesdale | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

