Central Grocery Olive Salad

For over a year now, Jade has been asking me to make muffuletta sandwiches again.  The muffuletta and olive salad was made famous in America by the Central Grocery, located in the heart of New Orleans.

The sandwich takes it’s name from a Sicilian sesame loaf that the founder of the grocery store used to make sandwiches of olive salad and cold cuts for Sicilian farmers.  An interesting story, you can check it out here  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Muffuletta.

Speaking of bread, check out New Orleanian, Dave Bridges’ superbly written “The Significance of Bread.”  http://underthetuscangun.com/talk/foodography/the-significance-of-bread/.

You’ll need to make the salad at least a day in advance to allow all the flavors to blend.  You could eat some immediately, I did, but it’s better the next day.

Central Grocery Olive Salad

12 ounce jar Giardiniera

1 cup pitted black olives, chopped

2 cups pimento stuffed green olives, chopped

12 ounce jar roasted red peppers, drained and chopped

5 large cloves garlic, minced

3 tbsp capers, chopped

1 tbsp oregano

1 tsp crushed red

1 cup olive oil

Salt and pepper to taste

Mix all the ingredients together and refrigerate overnight.


About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Italian, Recipes, Salad and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Central Grocery Olive Salad

  1. ceciliag says:

    as soon as we start making Giardiniera again i will be back for this.. very good! c

  2. Oh, dear, I’m out of the “loop”, what is Giardiniera?? I’d love to have this!

  3. Dave says:

    That looks great. If it wasn’t for the rain Id be heading to the French Quarter right now!

  4. Very very healthy salad. I love it.

  5. chefconnie says:

    This has been a favorite of mine for a few years. Love me some muffaletta.

  6. You learn something new every day :D. Wunderbar!

  7. charles says:

    Two questions:

    >1 cup pitted olives, chopped1 tsp crushed red<
    Crushed red – pepper?
    Crushed red what?

    Looks delicious. Yum.

  8. Another place where the line was so long we skipped it. I know, shame on us. But hey, now we have your recipe!

  9. Tessa says:

    Delish! I love olive salad ever since I tried it for the first time when I visited New Orleans a couple of years ago. Thank you for the recipe!

  10. Yum. A good thing to eat in the winter when a lot of produce is on holiday — I could see it for a New Year’s Eve spread.

  11. Michelle says:

    Ah, NOLA, my almost favorite city in the world. Looking forward to seeing tomorrow’s sandwich.

  12. Pingback: Muffuletta Sandwich: The Original Manwich | Cooking in Sens

  13. What a delicious salad! Refreshing and gorgeous photography!

    Happy Easter!
    Choc Chip Uru

  14. This looks great! Just bought all of the ingredients at the store, can’t wait to make it!

    However, I have one question, however silly it may be. Do you drain the Giardiniera or do you use the juice from it to help marinade the salad?

    Thanks!

  15. This looks so delicious! I just bought all of the ingredients at the store and can’t wait to make it!

    However, I have one question, however silly it may be, should I drain the Giardiniera or use the juice to marinade the salad?

    Thanks!

  16. Merrellyn says:

    I bought a jar of this salad at the Central Grocery years ago, and it lasts a long time in the fridge. I probably paid about $12 for it at the time. Recently, I tried to buy some on the internet, and the lowest price is $20, with $13 for shipping! No way! I’ll be going to the store for the ingredients I am missing and making this salad this week!

Leave a Reply

