Beetroot Tiramisu with Pesto Croutons

Talk about gadding about, today I guess I had time on my hands.  I began this morning with the obligatory dog walk, visited both the open market and local 7-11, had my hair done, made my tiramisu and took photos, went to the post office, had my nails painted, visited a new Portuguese supermarket and stopped for coffee twice, never feeling in any rush at all.  Beautiful weather, great day!

While in the open market, I made a pit stop at the boudin stall and bought some hot boudin, raced to get it home and immediately spread it on bread.  After I satisfied my initial lust, I took a picture of my second piece.  This is really the best boudin I’ve ever tasted!

The other day, I was sent a free copy of a new French magazine called, “Esprit d’ici” that covers regional cuisine, homes, gardens, nature and tourism.  That’s where I found the recipe for this absolutely, positively, drop dead, delicious beetroot tiramisu.  With it’s two different cheeses, fresh garlic and cumin, maybe even the beet haters will like this.  It’s easy and you could make it ahead, sprinkling on the croutons and cumin just before serving.  I changed a couple of things but whatever.

Beetroot Tiramisu

4 small beets, peeled and cooked

100 grams goat cheese

100 grams mascarpone

1 tbsp olive oil

1 tsp Dijon mustard

2 tbsp wine vinegar

1 clove of fresh garlic or 2 cloves of dried out garlic, minced

Salt and pepper

2o grams mini pesto croutons

Cumin seed

In a food processor, blend the beets, cheeses, olive oil, mustard, vinegar and garlic.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Sprinkle on top the croutons and 3-4 cumin seeds.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Appetizer, Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Beetroot Tiramisu with Pesto Croutons

  1. You live a good life – the bit about stopping for coffee twice sounds ideal to me, I shall be indulging in a similar exercise myself this Saturday whilst continuing to tackle Captain Corelli’s Mandolin. This tiramisu looks fantastic, such a shame I hate beetroot :D.

  2. Laura says:

    I am off to Whole Foods to buy ingredients … I love beetroot and this looks amazing!

  3. What a delicious idea, and that boudin looks the dog’s…..( the dog’s is a English compliment of the highest order and I leave you to research it!)

  4. Jon says:

    Two thumbs up for the boudin shot. Did you check if the portuguese market carries morcela?

  5. Ms. Fastspeed says:

    I never knew pesto croutons existed! I feel my entire life has improved now I have that knowledge. Not to mention the fact that the whole recipe looks mouthwatering-ly delicious.

  6. Villy says:

    Seriously, this tiramisu is so elegant! Perfect when you want to impress :)

  7. Karen says:

    Now if that color doesn’t shout springtime, especially sitting on that lovely little plate.

  8. Wow! That’s all I can say! Just wow!

  9. katyarich says:

    Sounds like you had a lovely day and this tiramisu it was just a perfect end, I love betroot, I usually make orange juice with it, tastes delicious:)

  10. chefconnie says:

    So… I read the title to this recipe and just sat back in my chair and let the flavors run through my mind. I let the flavors of beet root, crunchy bread bits, goat cheese and basil tumble and dance. Beautiful. I love to start my day off this way. Thanks a bunch.

  11. I’m making croutons today and you’ve given me a great idea!

  12. A savoury tiramisu…what a creative and fabulous way to prepare beetroot!

  13. Kim says:

    I wonder if you can use Mexican queso fresco instead? thats what i have

  14. leanneregan says:

    This sounds amazing, I love beetroot and both cheeses and croutons and pesto and tiramisu :) I shall store this recipe for a dinner party as I think it will impress friends. And I think my (almost) 2 year old daughter will love it too (she has quite highly developed taste buds!!)

  15. The colour is so beautiful! And I really want to try this despite my hatred of beets :P

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru
    Latest: Bleeding Jam Marbled Mudcake

  16. Everything looks amazing! I love boudin noir, and the one you had looked scrumptious.

    The beet tiramisu looks amazing too. Sometimes you get really good recipes and ideas from those free magazines!

  17. I’m always amazed at how many ways you can “slice a beet”, so to speak. What an inventive tiramisu and nothing like I would have predicted before I read the ingredients. Definitely a very cool recipe!!

  18. Pingback: Pesto Croutons | Rufus' Food and Spirits Guide

  19. Tandy says:

    Hi, I’m here visiting from Greg and Katherine! This tiramisu sounds really interesting :)

  20. Pingback: Easter Leg of Lamb | Cooking in Sens

Leave a Reply

