Crispy Mustard Rabbit Legs

I got a new cookbook called “The Little Paris Kitchen” by Rachel Khoo and was pretty excited about making her recipe for rabbit legs until I saw Frugal’s skillet http://frugalfeeding.wordpress.com/2012/03/29/gujarati-curried-chicken/.  I was practically knocked to the floor by a huge, acquisitive, wave of jealousy!  I’ve got to find a charity store to shop in or convince Frugal that I need that skillet more than he does :)

After tearing myself away from the skillet photo, I went to the store to buy breadcrumbs.  I bought everything but; lamb chops, magret de canard, ground veal, lentils, chocolate Easter candy, Perrier, roquefort cheese, grapes, zucchini and other stuff, but no breadcrumbs.  Thanks Frugal.

Anyway, I made Rachel Khoo’s rabbit legs, an easy, satisfying recipe with cracker crumbs.

Crispy Mustard Rabbit

2 rabbit legs

4 tbsp grainy French mustard

Bread or cracker crumbs

2 tbsp olive oil

Generously brush the mustard on to the rabbit legs and coat with the crumbs.  Preheat the oven to 400 F.  Pour the oil into a baking pan and heat in the preheated oven.  When the oil is hot, place the rabbit legs inside the pan and roast for about 20 minutes, turn and then roast for an additional 15 minutes.

Serve with young zucchini slices, sauteed in butter for a really short period of time.

Wine suggestion:  Petit Chablis

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, Food and Wine, French, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Crispy Mustard Rabbit Legs

  1. Buy “Panko” on line http://www.zimbio.com/Panco+Bread+Crumbs/articles/SFFQTeY7UOZ/Panko+Bread+Crumbs+8+oz+226+8+g and all your bread crumb problems are over. Nice shot and nice book.

  2. Amazing! I need to get myself some lamb. Firstly, I’m incredulous that you buy breadcrumbs! But we’ll let that one go… I’m very happy you have skillet envy, I was convinced that you’d not like it. Finally, I have something over you :D!

  3. This turned out sooo pretty! What are those little orange bits on top?

  4. Spoon Feast says:

    I love rabbit. Too many people are squeamish about eating them, but they are so tasty. Thanks for the recipe. I’ll be trying it when I am alone next since no one else will eat it in my home. I get these wrinkled noses and ‘eww not eating rabbit’ comments.
    . . . But they taste so good! I marinade mine in lemon, fresh thyme, and onion and slow roast.

  5. leg of bunny so damned yummy…

  6. Conor Bofin says:

    Very elegant. I am still having Thumper trouble here at home. She (youngest) will be off to Canada for a few months later in the year. Then, and only then…..

  7. Michelle says:

    Those look great. The rabbits we get here, while tasty, are a little too scrawny for this preparation though. You’d get about 2 tiny bites per leg!

  8. Tessa says:

    Gorgeous dish! I’ve never used piment threads before… Are they dried?

  9. katyarich says:

    I love rabbit and this recipe looks gorgeous and yummy!

  10. I adore rabbit and we eat it often here. Will have to try this recipe out very soon!

  11. Did you decorate it with saffron? What is that?

  12. I doubt it. I bought them here in France. Check at a gourmet shop that specializes in spices from China. The company that makes it is called Terre Exotique.

  13. Pingback: Spiced leg of lamb with red wine sauce and roasted potatoes | Chef Doru's Blog

  14. probirbidhan says:

    Reblogged this on bidhan rabbit kitchen and commented:
    yummy!!!

  15. Pingback: The Lone Ranger movie matched with hearty food | Film and food

Leave a Reply

