Jamie’s Fabulous Fish Pie

I’m having lighting issues again.  During the dull and dreary winter, the light shining on my photography table was perfect; soft and bright.  Now that the weather is sunny, I’m getting a harsh glare that is driving me insane.  Today, I decided to cook earlier, hoping for a decrease in the glare.  Still, I ended wrenching the curtain tops closed.  I hate change.

This is another super Jamie recipe http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/fish-recipes/fish-pie.  Grate the celery?  Honestly, I almost rebelled!  How about, finely chop the celery in a food processor?  I have to ask myself, “What was Jamie thinking?”  I love him but, really, sometimes he exaggerates.

I also adjusted a few things, like quantity, for my purposes.  My quantities make 8 generous servings for a luncheon, plus 3 individual mini pots for Jacques, M. and Mme Parret.  I think this pie was missing onion.  I didn’t, but you could add a finely chopped onion to give it a little more “savor”.  I also didn’t use the smoked haddock but instead fresh cod, which might have been a mistake.  This was good but I think smoked haddock would have been better.  I misread :(

Fish Pie

2 lbs potatoes, mashed with butter, salt and pepper

1 carrot, grated

2 sticks celery,  very finely chopped

1/2 green chilli, finely chopped

4 sprigs parsley, finely chopped

1 cup cheddar, grated

1 lemon, juice and zest

1 cup fresh spinach, chopped

2 tomatoes, cut into eighths

1 lb salmon, cut into cubes

1 lb fresh cod or smoked haddock,  cut into cubes

1 lb shrimp

Salt and pepper

Olive oil

In a very large bowl, mix the carrot, celery, chilli, parsley, cheddar, lemon juice, zest, spinach, tomatoes, salmon, cod or haddock and shrimp together.  Season with salt and pepper, then add a slug of olive oil and mix.  Put the fish mixture on the bottom of whatever type of baking pan you decide to use and cover with the mashed potatoes.

Bake in a 400 F oven for 40-50 minutes until bubbly and browned.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in Cooking, English, fish, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Jamie’s Fabulous Fish Pie

  1. I adore fish pie and this one looks like a winner. I would have to use cod as we can´t get smoked fish here. And I agree with you re the celery…how bizarre!

  2. Tessa says:

    Your fish pie looks gorgeous. I’m wondering how it would taste using smoked salmon… I also know what you mean about the light issue. By the time I get home in the evenings the light in my home is not that good for photography… I’m still learning how to deal with light and how to adapt to the changes.

  3. ceciliag says:

    I love fish pie.. love it.. this is super. I know you know much more about this food photography than I, but have you thought of taping an opaque sheet of white paper onto your window pane. It diffuses the glare without losing very much light. We used to use overhead projector paper if there is any such thing over there, in fact I don’t think there are even overhead projectors anymore!! The light changes every day and your photos are always so beautiful.. c

  4. The smoked haddock would have added the missing “savor”. Re the light through the window – go to Ikea and buy some cheap white gauze curtains and diffuse the light through them, using as many layers as you need.

  5. Lasairiona says:

    I printed this…I can’t WAIT to try it!!!!

  6. Fantastic and so cute. He does indeed exaggerate – but that’s part of his charm really, isn’t it? By the way, I implore you to check out my new skillet.

    • Also, I feel your glare pain – I really struggled to muzzle it in the photos of the blog which I’m putting up tomorrow (the photos of my skillet also won’t be up until then!)

      • I’m going to do as Roger recommended. I have sheers and curtains at the window now. I’ll just drape so more sheers over the top of the first pair and see. I hope I’m not jealous of this skillet :)

  7. I hope that you are :D. We have curtains, though when the sun is in full swing they still seem to glare at me! I’ll work it out. Perhaps a new angle for summer would be appropriate.

  8. I’m thinking it’s time to pick up some photography lighting for the consistency. This turned out yummy! I think I’d definitely try this.. without shaving the celery!! What a show off he is!

  9. Purely.. Kay says:

    This looks absolutely delicious and so darn filling. I love a filling dish that you can enjoy eating and making over and over again :)

  10. Janis says:

    I couldn’t wait to try this most especially now that a real person have tried it. (because Jamie’s not real at all, that’s probably why he grates his celery). I would probably try your take on it. Thanks for sharing this and I love your photos.

    And no suggestions or advice photography wise from me. I, myself am working on that skill, making my food look good.

  11. arniekaye says:

    Judging by the pictures alone, i think this recipe is going to be perfect for my kids. I love fish recipes. Would you check my blog sometime?

Leave a Reply

