Tarragon Pork Steaks

I found some ridiculously large pork steaks on sale.  The French cut is “echine de porc” and I immediately thought, “This is a job for super tajine”.

On the same shopping trip, I stopped by the local nursery and bought a dozen small pots of fresh herbs including rosemary and tarragon.  These pork steaks were almost rosemary pork steaks which would have been good also.

I was happy to see the fresh garlic in the market again.  This is quite the treat for me because I guess I’d never seen fresh garlic before.  It’s piquant!

This made a very nice sauce with the vegetables and wine.

Can you see my giraffe?

Tarragon Pork Steaks

4 regular sized pork steaks

Salt and pepper

2 tbsp olive oil

1 tbsp butter

2 onions, quartered

4 garlic cloves, sliced

A handful of tarragon leaves

4 small tomatoes, quartered

1/2 cup red wine

Season the steaks with salt and pepper.  In a stove top capable tajine, brown the steaks on each side, remove and set aside.  Add the butter, onions and garlic to the tajine and cook until browned.  Add the tarragon, the tomatoes and cook for 2 minutes.  Sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Place the pork steaks on top of the vegetables, place a tarragon sprig on each steak and pour the wine over all.  Cover with the tajine top and roast at 425 F for 15 minutes.  Remove the top and continue roasting for another 15 minutes.

About cookinginsens

An American living in Burgundy, France
This entry was posted in American, Cooking, Food and Wine, Main dishes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Tarragon Pork Steaks

  1. Spoon Feast says:

    Yes, I see your giraffe! Tarragon is my favorite herb. Fresh, not dried. I am glad to see my plant coming back after our ‘not no winter like’ winter.

  2. Tessa says:

    I love fresh tarragon. Lovely recipe!

  3. Jon says:

    great shots as usual and the pork steaks look very marbled. looks delicious! what’s great about pork is that it will take whatever you throw at it, even if heavily seasoned. nice combination with the choice of herbs.

  4. Love, love, love fresh tarragon, but don’t think I’ve ever paired it with pork and I’m not sure why. This sounds so savory and I love rosemary with pork…I’ll bet it’s terrific! What a great idea.

  5. Villy says:

    Great piece of meat, very nicely prepared! I adore the plate of the first photo. Very elegant.

  6. I hate to be disagreeable but I don’t consider that ridiculously large. It’s Americanized. Or Greg size.

  7. That looks beautiful! I love tarragon and have never tried it with pork before (usually have paired it with chicken . . .).

    The more I see you cook with a tajine, the more that I begin to think about how versatile it is. I should get one!

    And I love the giraffe :-)

  8. Marbled pork is the best…! Love your flavoring! It looks quick and easy to make :)

  9. I see your giraffe.. and I see your tagine.. and now I want one of each:)

Leave a Reply

